1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) RedHat 9, MP3 doesn't play

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by AbvAvgUser, Sep 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AbvAvgUser

AbvAvgUser Thread Starter

My PC config is P IV 1.5 MHz, 128 MB RAM, Onboard AC97 sound card.

I am a newbie to Linux and just installed Red Hat 9.

I am able to play my Audio CDs (so sound card config is okay), but I am not able to play MP3 tracks.

Media player displayed a message that Red Hat 9 doesn't support this type of media (probably because of some copyright problems) and since then it is not even opening the files in the play list.

How can I play MP3 tracks? I am a newbie to Linux so please give me somewhat detailed guidance. Thanks

2. lynch

lynch

Go here and download the x86 binary rpm package.It will go to your /home/yourname directory.Then r-click the rpm icon and choose to install it.In Redhat you may only have to double-click it,but I'm not sure.
    I take it that you got the partitioning scheme you posted about in another thread all worked out?:)
    HTH
    lynch

3. AbvAvgUser

Yes, I have installed Linux in place of a logical drive and boot loader picked it up correctly. Since version 7.3, Red hat has been giving warning when installing in place of a logical partitioning that you need a boot disk to start. Now disks are totally unreliable. But this one picked it up correctly and touch wood, its working so far.

Thanks for the link. I have downloaded the rpm package and will try to install it.

4. AbvAvgUser

I installed the package. It still doesn't work :(

5. lynch

lynch

Try running xmms as root by typing xmms at the console.See if the mp3 will play.
    Also you could just get rid of Redhat's version:
    lynch

6. AbvAvgUser