1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: reformat

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by GNOMEX, Apr 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GNOMEX

    GNOMEX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    159
    I have just had my hard drive reformatted
    When I click accessories>system tools ...there is no backup icon
    how do I restore icon please
    thank you
    Kev
     
  2. haycg

    haycg

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntbackup.exe
    Start - Run - C:\WINDOWS\system32- OK
    It's located in System 32 - ntbackup - mine has a red arrow in the Icon.
    Their are 3 with this name but only one has the red arrow.
    Right click this Icon and send a shortcut to your Desktop.
    Use your pointer and hold the left click and drag the Backup Icon to -
    Start - All Programs - Accessories - System Tools - Put it in the list.
    Don't release the left click until your ready to drop the shortcut.
    If you work it right it will go.
    If you don't have the ntbackup in system32, I can't help you, maybe someone else can.
     
  3. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
  4. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,781
    If we are talking about the "Backup" that is in "XP Pro," it is really not at all worth using. It does not backup everything that should be.

    {redoak}
     
  5. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Well, it backs up what you tell it to backup.
    From the above link:
    "When used correctly and in conjunction with freely available enhancement software you can implement a backup strategy with NTBackup and avoid costly backup software from third parties. "
    I use it. I like it. It works for me.
     
  6. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,781
    Note it needs "enhancements." Perhaps when you go thru with the extras, it rivals Acronis "TrueImage, but I will spend a few dollars for a proven, easy to use product.

    And then there is a free "CobianBackup" for data files, too.
    {redoak}
     
  7. Jack Hackett

    Jack Hackett

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,938
    NTBackup is on the XP HOME CD
    the installer file (.msi)is located here
    cdrom drive: \VALUEADD\MSFT\NTBACKUP
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/702241

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice