1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED!!!!] Reformating HD/install Win98

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Whittibo, Sep 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Whittibo

    Whittibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    Hello.. I found this post in a "resolved" thread, and posted a reply, but I don't know if anyone looks at the resolved ones?! anyway.. here's the original post I had a question about:

    And my question is this..
    I am reformatting from Win95 to install Win98 (I don't have an upgrade) I followed the instructions and reformatted the HD and when I try to do step #9, my CDRom isn't being seen. says "invalid path" (I think that's what it says)

    can anyone help me figure out how to get my CDRom recognized so that I can install Win98.. :(

    thanks much!!
     
  2. panzer999

    panzer999

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    Hi Whittibo

    Try typing: COPY E:\win98 C:\win98
     
  3. Whittibo

    Whittibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    HELLO! thanks for responding..

    I tried
    a: (floppy)
    b: (assuming it's floopy too, shows same dir.)
    c: (HD)
    d: invalid
    e: invalid
    f: invalid

    I am trying to find another boot disk.. wouldn't that be my problem? that the boot disk doesn't have the drivers? :(
     
  4. panzer999

    panzer999

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    724
  5. Whittibo

    Whittibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    and is it the bootdisk that I need? I already downloaded one this morning.. but it's not helping with the CDrom..
    I downloaded another one but waiting for my dang floppy to format.. :(
     
  6. panzer999

    panzer999

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    BTW, that step (9) can be skipped...that just copies the setup files to your hard drive.

    But you do have to get the CDROM working.

    Been in BIOS yet?
     
  7. panzer999

    panzer999

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    724
  8. Whittibo

    Whittibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    yeah.. checked out bios.. I don't know much about it, but got it to work last time.. :)

    I did set it to auto detect the drives.

    I just downloaded the UBD (ultimate boot disk) someone else here on another thread recommended it.. so I will try it?! if not, I'll go to the site you suggested..

    I'll be back!!
     
  9. Whittibo

    Whittibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    OK.. this is driving me crazy..
    I put the new disk in.. it tells me "invalid system disk, remove disk.. blah blah blah"
    so I take the disks out, it tells me something else..

    I went back to my original boot disk I made this morning.. and I can see where it loads the driver for the CDRom..

    so this must be a BIOS problem?!
     
  10. panzer999

    panzer999

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    You had to download that file and run it to create a boot disk.

    Its loading the drivers? Are there any error messages?
     
  11. Whittibo

    Whittibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    ok.. trying the new one you just posted.. :)

    keep your fingers crossed!
     
  12. Whittibo

    Whittibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    ohh... yours worked!! YESSSSS... Win98 is currently loading!!! :)
    wow.. I am keeping my fingers crossed!!

    thanks.. and I'll let you know in about 33 minutes what it's prognosis is!!
     
  13. panzer999

    panzer999

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    Glad to hear it!

    Keep us posted, please :)
     
  14. Whittibo

    Whittibo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,207
    OH NO!!! major road block..
    I don't have the product code.. :( now what???

    ok.. you might need some background on this..
    a friend had computer problems.. turns out her harddrive crashed.. I took components from my old system and her system and put together another one. She had the Win98 disk.. I forgot all about the product code.
    This was a new disk when she bought it..but I think they are called OEM.. (not packaged version) so no documentation on it..

    so how do I get a product code???? or is it product key? shucks.. anyway.. I am sure you know what one I mean.. ;)
     
  15. panzer999

    panzer999

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    Yep, that would be a problem.

    You say this is a new hard drive? Was Windows installed on another one, and can you get it? If so, we might be able to get the Product Key off of it.

    I seem to remember a while back there was a thread on here where someone got the Key off a CD...but I may be just remembering wrong. I'm not certian it is on the CD. I'll dig around and see if I can find the post.

    There should have been a Product Key printed on something somewhere with the CD.......
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165977

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice