1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: reinstalling windows on new PC, old product key?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by donaldcrowhurst, Apr 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. donaldcrowhurst

    donaldcrowhurst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Hi all


    I am selling my PC and as such formatting the HD using DBAN.

    When I buy a new PC (with no OS), Will I still be able to use my old Win7 disc and product key?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,594
    First Name:
    David
    NO, it is licensed to be used on the old hardware.
    You will need to buy a new copy for the new machine.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    You can move a retail version to a different PC. If this is the case with you it's best if you make sure prospective buyers understand that they are not getting Windows with the computer.

    An OEM (including System Builder's) version is good for only the original computer on which it was installed. If this is the case for you it's best to include Windows, including the installation DVD, with the computer since it will be of little use to you.
     
  4. donaldcrowhurst

    donaldcrowhurst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    eek. I have just nuked the whole drive. So you are telling me I cant keep this windows 7 disc?

    I did not get it with the PC, it is a retail copy. Not sure if that makes a difference?

    Otherwise I will have to do as you say and sell with the disc.

    thanks for advice so far
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    Was my first paragraph not clear? Retail can be installed, activated and used on different computers--but only one at a time.
     
  6. donaldcrowhurst

    donaldcrowhurst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    ok thanks, I was just checking that
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,006
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  8. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,594
    First Name:
    David
    My stated in post #2 is still true IF you use the CD and key code on the old machine.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1095077

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice