Solved: Remote Procedure Call disabled....Services

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sizzoid

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
17
Using WindowsXP Media Edition - On bad advice, went to control panel > services and set RPC to disabled. Rebooted. Now, I can't even copy my files due to lack of services running. Woe is me. I also wiped out restore points. Doh!
Is there a way to restore default service settings ? If not, I have Linux installed on another partition. Could I use it to save my data to another partition, maybe, and then reinstall windows?
I'd appreciate any and all ideas here. :D
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
3,235
If you can boot to windows, click start, run, type net start rpcss , click ok.

Same for rpclocator if that's the one you disabled.
 

sizzoid

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
17
Thank you The Hound for the quick come back. Things are improving. It seems that many other services depend on RPC, but they aren't aware of me turning it on. So they need to be started too.
Let me play around with it some more tonight, and I'll get back to here tomorrow evening after work. Thanks for your help so far. Don't die, I may still need u. lol.
Later.
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
3,235
More tomorrow then, but set those two to automatic, and forget you ever knew how to disable them...
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
128
I would like to know where you got the advice to disable that service from??? Remote Procedure Call is the most important service of all. Almost everything depends on it if you look at it's properties under the dependence tab. To make sure you have all services set to their default settings you can refer to this guide http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2005
Messages
380
YES, I'll echo cfhpantera. That was some REALLY BAD advice you got. Whoever told you to do that might not be somebody I would ever ask for advice (especially on computers) again!!!
 

sizzoid

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
17
Gentlemen,
Thanks to you all. I tried everything The Hound suggested repeatedly, but I still couldn't get the control panel to let me change anything in Services. So I looked in the registry and changed the start value. Still no good.
Linux saved my data to a spare partition and I've restored windows from the Gateway factory disc. The MBR was left untouched and the partition table unchanged, so I can still dual boot like before. Never again will I stray from this site for advice. I'd rather not say where I read about my bad move.
I'm in good shape now so thanks again. You guys make this site..don't anybody try to convince me otherwise. See you again with something a little more fun than this one.

-- Only the nail that sticks up gets hammered down --
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top