1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Remove Win 8 and install Win XP

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by cstortion, Feb 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cstortion

    cstortion Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Last week, in an effort to enter the 21st century, I bought a new HP P2-1334 Desktop primary because my old computer has a slow processor and 512 MB of RAM. The HP has 1GB of RAM and 500 GB of memory. It also has Win 8, which for me, is a nightmare. The biggest problem for me with this new computer, besides the Win 8 OS, is the fact that it is not compatible with my AirObic Mouse and many of my other favorite programs that Win 8 refuses to load because they are "incompatible".

    For those of you who are unfamiliar with the AirObic Mouse, it is a device that allows me to point to a site or a program while the mouse automatically clicks on it for me. (There's no need press down the mouse key with my thumb.) I have a serious case of carpal tunnel in both hands, currently in remission, and this mouse has been a lifesaver for me.

    The AirObic mouse will only operate with Win XP. There are no new drivers that would make the mouse compatible with Win 8. In fact, the company that manufactured the AirObic Mouse appears to be out of business.That leaves me with two options of which I am aware:

    1. I could donate the new computer to charity, after deleting all personal information, and upgrade my old computer with more RAM and maybe a new processor. (I need at least 1 GB of Ram so that I can operate Quicken 2013. I installed U-Verse DSL which operates at 3GBps to operate the new computer and now am using it to operate the old computer. I'm satisfied with the results but I still need more RAM. I only use the computer For Quicken, to email, to store and edit digital photos and to browse the internet, on occasion. No games; no You Tube. (I only use 25% of the available space on my old computer.)

    2. Perhaps with your help, I could remove Win 8 and install Win XP.

    Since I am not knowledgeable enough to know what to do, once again, I come to you folks at this site for help. This is not a money issue nor is it about having a really fast computer with a lot of memory. This is about my hands and installing Quicken 2013. Does anyone have a solution for me?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    where will you get windows XP from - do you have a full retail version you can use - the version that you have on your old PC is probably OEM and tied to that PC
    also if you can get windows XP - the new PC with windows 8 may not have XP drivers available for the hardware

    i assume you have logged into the site and looked at the downloads for possible drivers
    http://www.aerobicmouse.com/log_in_required.bv?lastplace=/downloads/

    what happens when you just plug into windows 8 ?

    from the site it should be plug and play via USB
    http://www.aerobicmouse.com/products/?productid=16

    they are selling in UK on amazon
    http://www.keyboardco.com/keyboard_search.asp?SG=10011
    and US amazon
    http://www.amazon.com/Memory-Upgrade-Designer-Appliances-E-Quill-AirO2bic/dp/B0007X9JMA
    from http://www.antonline.com/
    so maybe worth asking them ? http://www.antonline.com/contactus.htm
    http://www.antonline.com/p_ACP--009...mic-PC-Mac-Right-Hand-by-Ergoguys-_230470.htm
     
  3. cstortion

    cstortion Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Here's my responses to your reply:

    1. Where will you get Windows XP from?
    I do, in fact, have a full retail version that I can use, along with the license key.

    2. The new PC with Windows 8 may not have XP drivers available for the hardware.
    How would I determine if the new computer had drivers for Win XP. If it didn't, could I install the drivers separately?

    3. Did I contact Aerobic Mouse?
    Yes I did. No new drivers. When I checked properties after installing the software that runs the mouse, and after running a compatibility test for win 8, it showed that the Aerobic Mouse would run on XP SP3, only. BTW, the sites you suggested are selling the same device that I have with the same incompatible driver.

    4. What happens when I plug the mouse cable into the USB port in the new computer?
    It loads the mouse but not the gestures that matter; no auto click features.

    Okay, now what?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    make and exact model of the PC

    goto the manufacturers website - use the model to find your PC and see if they have windows XP drivers - if not - then you will not be able to use the PC with windows 8
    or you will need to look at every bit of hardware and then look to see if the individual manufacturers have XP drivers

    i suspect this will not run - lots of people had issue going from vista back to XP a few years ago and hardware has progressed and manufacturers do not develop support for software they are not shipping the PC with

    whats the make and model of the windows 8 PC

    use the XP machine and goto
    http://www.crucial.com/
    and run there memory scanner - that will tell you a) what you have and in what slots b) what you can upgrade to and c) the model of the memory
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,936
    First Name:
    Terry
    If there are XP drivers for the new PC they will be on HP's web site. Since they announced that they are not going to provide Windows 7 drivers for many of their newest machines it is unlikely they have XP drivers, but you may as well look.

    Did you try installing the mouse driver--if it is a self-extracting self-installing executable--by right clicking on it and 'Troubleshoot compatibility'? Not likely to work, but doesn't take long to try.

    If you have Windows 8 Pro you can probably use Hyper-V to run XP as a guest system. I just (last evening) enabled virtualization on my Lenovo and will be trying this soon.

    You can use VirtualBox or VMWare Player to run XP as a guest system on a virtual machine.

    Instead of upgrading your old machine it may (you'd have to compare and decide) be better to buy a used or refurbished machine with XP.

    If you are not going to try to return or sell the new machine I suggest that you try the above ideas before spending any money.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,936
    First Name:
    Terry
    I forgot that you only have 1 GB memory. That kills the virtual machine ideas. :(
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  8. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    That HP computer you purchased is not fast... Its like a $30 low-power 18watt CPU... its dreadfully slow... slower than most entry level computers from 5 years ago... but it allows HP and others to sell $250~300 desktops. Its a netbook CPU. It maybe in a desktop case, but its NOT a desktop computer - no slots: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...portFAQ&prodSeriesId=5295976&prodTypeId=12454

    You have a limited time to *BUILD* your desktop. XP has been replaced by Win7 a few years ago. Driver support for XP for new hardware is coming to an end. The makers of your MOUSE should have that special button driver for Win7 at least, considering their website still has a 2012 copyright.

    Here is what you can build by yourself on the cheap. Pretty much most/all PC shops are Win7 or Win8.

    Go to Microcenter, they have a location in Detroit: http://microcenter.com/site/stores/madison-heights.aspx

    $120 = Intel i3-3225 http://microcenter.com/product/398006/Core_i3_3225_33GHz_LGA_1155_Boxed_Processor
    $ 25 = Gigabyte B75 motherboard (instant bundle package) http://microcenter.com/product/398418/GA-B75M-D3H_LGA_1155_mATX_Intel_Motherboard
    (Note: this is based on my local price bundles, should be same in your city. The Gigabyte B75 is no longer carried in Microcenter... its been replaced with a cheaper MSI board... for the $25, its a killer deal if IN stock. MSI is still good, thou... or pay $65~85 for a bundled Gigabyte Z77 board)

    $12~62 MSI B75 motherboard ($12 bundle price vs not bundle) http://microcenter.com/product/408926/B75MA-P45_LGA_1155_B75_mATX_Intel_Motherboard

    $45 - Thermaltake case with a USB3 port (this is a list of low-cost cases) http://microcenter.com/search/searc...+4294959066&NTX=&NTT=&NTK=all&sortby=pricelow
    $43 - Thermaltake 500w PSU (currently $25 off shelf in Dallas - on sale) http://microcenter.com/product/365237/TR2_Series_500_Watt_ATX_Power_Supply
    $33 - 4GB RAM (8/16GB is cheaper per GB, but XP supports up to 4/3.5GB) http://microcenter.com/product/3328...el_Desktop_Memory_Kit_(Two_2GB_Memory_Modules)
    $67 - 500GB Seagate drive: http://microcenter.com/product/3342..._30Gb-s_35_Internal_Hard_Drive_ST3500641AS-RK
    $17 - Generic DVD-RW SATA drive (they have a few brands)

    Total = $317 (with the Gigabate B75 board)... so you are looking at $305~360 in parts. Re-use your keyboard & mouse.

    The intel B75 vs Z77 boards will perform the same... the Z77 has more power-user features for games and overclocking. I just built 4 B75 systems for an office. I otherwise use the Z77.

    Get a refund on that HP, you have 2 weeks to return computers. IT is WIN8 computer that IS NOT COMPATIBLE with your software or hardware. Return it to the store, get your money back.

    The intel i3 system I told you about can be built in an hour or so... then install with your WinXP discs.

    *WinXP will not support all the features of modern hardware... such as USB3.0. You can go for even a cheaper case for $10~20 less... its up to you. Get what you like. Better cases are near the $100 range. But a $30 case will hold your parts.
    *MS support for XP ends this April. You can still get the security/bug patches, but MS will no longer make new ones.

    Your old computer is most likely not worth updating, especially if its 6+ years old. And if it dies next month... then what?
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,936
    First Name:
    Terry
    Next April; Support Ends April 8, 2014. :) That's still coming up pretty fast.
     
  10. cstortion

    cstortion Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    I appreciate all of the input that I received from all of you. Speed is a relative thing. Candidly, the new computer was fast, for me. Everything else about it is what's causing my problems.

    My old computer is working very well, for me, with my new higher speed DSL connection. Given the fact that HP has no XP drivers for my new computer, I'm going to wipe out all of my personal information and donate it to a charity. I can't return it because I wiped out many of the pre-installed garbage that hp installed. This was a good learning experience for me. Never again, will I buy anything before fully checking out compatibility issues first.

    I'll check out the cost of installing more RAM and weigh that against the cost and time it will take me to upgrade my old computer or whether I can buy a good used computer with xp. No matter which choice I make, it's the aerobic mouse that's critical for me. Without that mouse, my carpal tunnel symptoms will will be back.

    Thanks for everything, guys. You're the best!
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you should be able to return to factory condition using the recovery manager

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=uk&lc=en&dlc=en&docname=c03489643
     
  12. cstortion

    cstortion Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Wayne, thanks for the suggestion. I'll try it and see if it works. If it does, it does. If it doesn't it doesn't. Your help, as well as the suggestions from the others, has been invaluable. Thankfully, I bought this thing at Best Buy while they still had a 30 day return policy.

    Cary
     
  13. Compiler

    Compiler

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,855
    You should be able to return the PC in whatever software condition it is... the store/HP would factory-wipe the system ANYWAY. Erase your data, demand your money back... you'll get it.

    Your old PC is *NOT* upgradable:
    Intel Celeron CPU 1.70GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 1 Stepping 3
    RAM: 511 Mb / NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro 32 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 57247 MB, Free - 44506 MB

    When it was new, it was Sloooooow. I have 6yr old PCs I'm dumping for about $75 with dual-core AMD and WinXP pre-installed. They have 1~2GB of RAM. These are SLOW by todays standards, but faster than ANY Pentium 4 computer. (Note: I'm not offering to sell on this site. A- I don't do that here. B- I have low-income neighbors who have first dibs)

    The $300 build of a new modern computer I quoted you will blow your doors off in performance.

    *Even my son has had a quad-core PC since he was 6... from spare parts. :)
     
  14. cstortion

    cstortion Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Since I continue to receive responses to this thread, I have marked it "unsolved" until there are no further replies. I continue to be fascinated by the interest that all of you have shown in trying to help me out and am grateful for your input. I think, however, that some of you don't understand my priorities so I'll explain them as clearly as possible:

    1. I need at least 1GB of RAM so I can operate Quicken 2013. Compiler says that my computer is "not upgradable." Does that mean I can't add more RAM? Does it mean that I should consider my dinosaur of a computer as a candidate for the garbage can?

    2. My real priority is to be able to use my Aerobic Mouse (AM). So far, there is no evidence that it will operate on any other system except Win XP. I have written to the operators of their website in an attempt to learn whether there are any drivers that would allow me to operate this device on another OS, but have received no reply. A phone call to their contact number left me with the conclusion that XP is in fact the only OS that will power the AM. I may have found a similar device that operates on Win 7. I sent them an email to determine whether it will do what the AM does and whether they have a driver for Win 8.

    3. I am not interested in being "blown away" by the speed of my computer. For now, my needs are small, unlike many of you who use your computers for things I don't. I would consider buying a used computer, that operates Win XP, from Compiler and would appreciate a private message from him as to how to acquire one for $75. If It turns out that I have no other option than to use the AM, I will likely acquire a newer dinosaur from him.

    4. As Wayne, and others, suggested, I went to Best Buy yesterday, discussed my problems with my "new" computer and was told that I could return it, as is, for a full refund. However, I will first wipe out all personal information and leave it to Best Buy to restore the machine. I have until 3-19th to return it.

    I thank all of you for your help and remain in awe of your kindness and your knowledge. Your site remains a valuable source of information for me.

    Cary
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the link i posted in post #4 above should have told you that information - when you run the scan

    post the make and exact model and we can also look it up
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Remove install
  1. Jack1000
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    203
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1091041

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice