Solved: renaming user accounts

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Lvenable

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
47
I am using windows server 2003, I have a user who is using someone else's account, she was never issued her own instead just took over an old acount. If I rename the user account it should have not affect on any of the information, correct? I just need to make sure as the new user is in our accounting dept. I really can't afford to lose any info. Thanks
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
I usually just create a new user account and copy all the settings and attributes over to the new account. I would assume that 2003 has the ability to create a new user based on a template or another user account. This way it will copy over all the user attributes to the new user. Then just copy over the files to the new users directory. Keep the old account around for a while until you are sure things are ok. Just keep it locked.
 

Lvenable

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
47
I know how to copy the user's account to make a new account but that will not allow the user to keep the same desktop and shortcuts. I would prefer to just rename that account if it does not affect any of the information. Does anyone know if by renaming the account I will lose any info?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Messages
16
LwdSquashman said:
Cant you copy the profile and desktop shortcuts.

Yeh, rename the foder in your user home space to what there new account will be and then point the new profile at it in AD.

If your using roaming profiles then just rename it to and point at it in AD as above, that would take a min at most :)
 

Lvenable

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
47
I'm not sure I understand Edenalig's suggestion. However, I would just like to know, if I go into Active Directory users and Computers, select the user account in question, right click, Select properties, change the users info, Select the account tab, and then change the user logon name; will I lose any information? I appreciate all of the suggestions, but i really just want to rename the accoutn and not recreate it. Thanks
 

Lvenable

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
47
The answer to my question is yes, you can simply right click on the user's name in the active users and computers directory. select rename and then enter the new information. No information is lost and the only change made is the user's name. Hope this helps someone else.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top