1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: renaming user accounts

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Lvenable, Sep 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lvenable

    Lvenable Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    I am using windows server 2003, I have a user who is using someone else's account, she was never issued her own instead just took over an old acount. If I rename the user account it should have not affect on any of the information, correct? I just need to make sure as the new user is in our accounting dept. I really can't afford to lose any info. Thanks
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I usually just create a new user account and copy all the settings and attributes over to the new account. I would assume that 2003 has the ability to create a new user based on a template or another user account. This way it will copy over all the user attributes to the new user. Then just copy over the files to the new users directory. Keep the old account around for a while until you are sure things are ok. Just keep it locked.
     
  3. Lvenable

    Lvenable Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    I know how to copy the user's account to make a new account but that will not allow the user to keep the same desktop and shortcuts. I would prefer to just rename that account if it does not affect any of the information. Does anyone know if by renaming the account I will lose any info?
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Cant you copy the profile and desktop shortcuts.
     
  5. Edenalig

    Edenalig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    16

    Yeh, rename the foder in your user home space to what there new account will be and then point the new profile at it in AD.

    If your using roaming profiles then just rename it to and point at it in AD as above, that would take a min at most :)
     
  6. Lvenable

    Lvenable Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    I'm not sure I understand Edenalig's suggestion. However, I would just like to know, if I go into Active Directory users and Computers, select the user account in question, right click, Select properties, change the users info, Select the account tab, and then change the user logon name; will I lose any information? I appreciate all of the suggestions, but i really just want to rename the accoutn and not recreate it. Thanks
     
  7. Lvenable

    Lvenable Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    The answer to my question is yes, you can simply right click on the user's name in the active users and computers directory. select rename and then enter the new information. No information is lost and the only change made is the user's name. Hope this helps someone else.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved renaming user
  1. Kaizerwulf
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    886
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/275099

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice