1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Repair Local Area Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jerry938, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jerry938

    Jerry938 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    My error message states that "Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action cannot be completed: Registering with DNS" I have no internet connection on my HP PC, which is why I am typing this on my laptop. On the HP I am running windows xp with sp3. I connect to a cable modem provide by Time Warner. This problem started yesterday, so I have been utilizing both computers with one internet connection, or plugging and unplugging the cat5 cable. I have run Microsoft Essential Full scan, as well as Malwarebytes's Anti-malware. Now I ran both of those in Safe mode, and picked up no bugs. I have Avast as my antivirus software, and the message I receive on that is that "Avast will not be able tp protect mail/news (error 10050). I am unable to turn on the web shields for Avast. I have manually entered the IP addresses into my HP from my laptop, all the way thru DNS servers. It still won't connect. I tried using the Internet explorer diagnostic tool, and it came back and said that I have a winsock issue. It ran thru it's fix, but to no avail. I'm open for any ideas or suggestions to help me alleviate this problem.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see ipconfig /all
    also ping tests
    and a tcp/ip reset



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Jerry938

    Jerry938 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Host Name: HP2150819802
    Primary Dns Suffix: Nothing,it'sblank
    Node type: Hubrid
    IP Routing enabled: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled: No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix: neb.rr.com
    Description: Broadcom Netxtreme Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address: 00-14-C2-CB-61-5F
    Dhcp Enabled: Yes
    Autoconfiguration enabled: Yes
    IP Address:0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask:0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway: Nothing,it's blank
    DHCP Server:76.47.32.1
    DNS Servers:209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    Ping test: No default gateway listed, so went on and tried google .com
    Ping request could not find host google.com.Please check the name and try again
    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Destination host unreachable. 4 times it states this
    Ping Statistics Packets sent =4, Received =0, Lost =4 100% loss

    I did the 2 netsh resets as asked, and re-booted the machine. Now it is trying to renew IP address. I had switched the TCP/IP properties back to obtain addresses automatically. I still have no internet.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    check the services also what firewall do you have or ever had on the PC

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    From a Johnwill post

    IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

    Diagnosis:

    1. DHCP Service not running.
    2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
    3. Bad NIC card drivers.
    4. Defective NIC hardware.

    Resolution:

    1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
    2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
    3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
    4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 30 seconds.
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Jerry938

    Jerry938 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    DHCP Client Properties (Local Computer) Startup says automatic, Service status stopped. I clicked on the Start button and received this:

    Popup window from Services
    Could not start the DHCP Client service on Local Computer.
    Error 1075: The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats the issue - so now you need to look at the dependencies and see what is stopping the service to run

    If a service is not running,
    right click on the service
    then click on properties and now check the dependencies.

    Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.
     
  7. Jerry938

    Jerry938 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    DHCP Client Properties (Local Computer)
    Under Dependencies:
    DHCP Client
    This service depends on the following system components

    NetBios over Tcpip
    drops down to TCP/IP Protocol Driver
    drops down to IPSEC Driver

    Again, TCP/IP Protocol Driver
    drops down to IPSEC Driver

    Then,
    The following system components depend on this service

    CyberGhost VPN Client

    No drop down box

    How do I check to see if these are functionable? None are high-lighted in yellow??
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have AFD - Ancillary Function Driver for winsock ?


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    To verify that the dependency components are running. Follow the steps below:
    • Click Start, Run and type DEVMGMT.MSC
    • In the View menu, click Show hidden devices
    • Double-click Non-Plug and Play drivers section
    • Double-click the entry AFD, and click the Driver tab
    Whats the startup type set to ?
    • Start the service. Note down the error message if any.


    Similarly start the other drivers namely:
    NetIO legacy TDI support driver
    TCP/IP Protocol Driver
    Network store interface service
    NSI proxy service

    Post back if all are started and any error messages
    --------------------------------
    Error message when you start the DHCP Client service on a Windows XP-based computer: "Error 1075"
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/915162
     
  9. Jerry938

    Jerry938 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    I do not see AFD listed in the Device Manager list. I only have the two (IPSEC Driver and TCP/IP Protocol Driver), and they both say they are working properly.

    These I don't recognize. Network store interface service
    NSI proxy service
     
  10. Jerry938

    Jerry938 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    etaf,
    You had asked me what firewall do you have or ever had on the PC. I have windows firewall installed. I receive this error message when I try to access them thru the Security Center. It says "Window Firewall settings cannot be displayed because the associated service is not running. Do you want to start the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) service?" I click on this window "yes" And then Windows Firewall displays a box stating "Windows cannot start the Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) service. Just thought I would try to keep you informed.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
  12. Jerry938

    Jerry938 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    CMD/K SC QC DHCP Results:

    SERVICE_NAME: DHCP
    TYPE:20 WIN32_SHARE_process
    START TYPE:2 AUTO_START
    ERROR CONTROL: 1 NORMAL
    BINARY_PATH_NAME: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SVCHOST.EXE-K NETSVCS
    LOAD ORDER GROUP: TDI
    TAG:0
    DISPLAY_NAME: DHCP CLIENT
    DEPENDENCIES: TCPIP
    AFD
    NETBT
    SERVICE_START_NAME: LOCALSYSTEM

    Files that are required for windows to run properly must be copied to the DLL Cache
    Insert your windows xp pro cd-rom now
    It's asking for my windows xp pro cd-rom when I try to run sfc/scannow. My system did not come with a cd-rom.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    its found some missing or corrupt files -

    when did this first start ?

    you may have a hidden partition - whats the exact model of the HP PC
     
  14. Jerry938

    Jerry938 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    This issue first started Wednesday, 12/7. Exact model of the HP is HP Compaq dc5100 SFF (PZ595UA) Is this enough information?
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see if it has a hidden partition

    control panel
    administrator tools
    computer management
    disk management

    can you post a screen shot or list details of what you have listed



    I wonder if a system restore may help

    start>
    programs>
    accessories>
    system tools>
    system restore>

    choose a date before 7th
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Repair Local
  1. Kaizerwulf
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,645
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030218

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice