Solved: Repair Local Area Connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jerry938

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
14
My error message states that "Windows could not finish repairing the problem because the following action cannot be completed: Registering with DNS" I have no internet connection on my HP PC, which is why I am typing this on my laptop. On the HP I am running windows xp with sp3. I connect to a cable modem provide by Time Warner. This problem started yesterday, so I have been utilizing both computers with one internet connection, or plugging and unplugging the cat5 cable. I have run Microsoft Essential Full scan, as well as Malwarebytes's Anti-malware. Now I ran both of those in Safe mode, and picked up no bugs. I have Avast as my antivirus software, and the message I receive on that is that "Avast will not be able tp protect mail/news (error 10050). I am unable to turn on the web shields for Avast. I have manually entered the IP addresses into my HP from my laptop, all the way thru DNS servers. It still won't connect. I tried using the Internet explorer diagnostic tool, and it came back and said that I have a winsock issue. It ran thru it's fix, but to no avail. I'm open for any ideas or suggestions to help me alleviate this problem.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
can we see ipconfig /all
also ping tests
and a tcp/ip reset



------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router the next two
Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet , one by name and one by number which checks that the dns is working

------------------------------------------------------------------------


------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log
and press enter

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog
and press enter

Reboot the machine.

Please note and post back - if you receive the message
Access is Denied

Post back the results here
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Jerry938

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
14
Host Name: HP2150819802
Primary Dns Suffix: Nothing,it'sblank
Node type: Hubrid
IP Routing enabled: No
WINS Proxy Enabled: No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix: neb.rr.com
Description: Broadcom Netxtreme Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address: 00-14-C2-CB-61-5F
Dhcp Enabled: Yes
Autoconfiguration enabled: Yes
IP Address:0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask:0.0.0.0
Default Gateway: Nothing,it's blank
DHCP Server:76.47.32.1
DNS Servers:209.18.47.61
209.18.47.62
Ping test: No default gateway listed, so went on and tried google .com
Ping request could not find host google.com.Please check the name and try again
Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Destination host unreachable. 4 times it states this
Ping Statistics Packets sent =4, Received =0, Lost =4 100% loss

I did the 2 netsh resets as asked, and re-booted the machine. Now it is trying to renew IP address. I had switched the TCP/IP properties back to obtain addresses automatically. I still have no internet.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
check the services also what firewall do you have or ever had on the PC

------------------------------------------------------------------------
From a Johnwill post

IP addresses of all zeros are normally caused by one of the following.

Diagnosis:

  1. DHCP Service not running.
  2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
  3. Bad NIC card drivers.
  4. Defective NIC hardware.

Resolution:

  1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
  2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, restart (power cycle) the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
  3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
  4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
------------------------------------------------------------------------


------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to power cycle

“power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
  • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
  • Wait at least 30 seconds.
  • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
  • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device ) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Jerry938

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
14
DHCP Client Properties (Local Computer) Startup says automatic, Service status stopped. I clicked on the Start button and received this:

Popup window from Services
Could not start the DHCP Client service on Local Computer.
Error 1075: The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
Service status stopped.
thats the issue - so now you need to look at the dependencies and see what is stopping the service to run

If a service is not running,
right click on the service
then click on properties and now check the dependencies.

Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.
 

Jerry938

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
14
DHCP Client Properties (Local Computer)
Under Dependencies:
DHCP Client
This service depends on the following system components

NetBios over Tcpip
drops down to TCP/IP Protocol Driver
drops down to IPSEC Driver

Again, TCP/IP Protocol Driver
drops down to IPSEC Driver

Then,
The following system components depend on this service

CyberGhost VPN Client

No drop down box

How do I check to see if these are functionable? None are high-lighted in yellow??
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
do you have AFD - Ancillary Function Driver for winsock ?


------------------------------------------------------------------------

To verify that the dependency components are running. Follow the steps below:
• Click Start, Run and type DEVMGMT.MSC
• In the View menu, click Show hidden devices
• Double-click Non-Plug and Play drivers section
• Double-click the entry AFD, and click the Driver tab
Whats the startup type set to ?
• Start the service. Note down the error message if any.


Similarly start the other drivers namely:
NetIO legacy TDI support driver
TCP/IP Protocol Driver
Network store interface service
NSI proxy service

Post back if all are started and any error messages
--------------------------------
Error message when you start the DHCP Client service on a Windows XP-based computer: "Error 1075"
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/915162
 

Jerry938

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
14
I do not see AFD listed in the Device Manager list. I only have the two (IPSEC Driver and TCP/IP Protocol Driver), and they both say they are working properly.

These I don't recognize. Network store interface service
NSI proxy service
 

Jerry938

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
14
etaf,
You had asked me what firewall do you have or ever had on the PC. I have windows firewall installed. I receive this error message when I try to access them thru the Security Center. It says "Window Firewall settings cannot be displayed because the associated service is not running. Do you want to start the Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) service?" I click on this window "yes" And then Windows Firewall displays a box stating "Windows cannot start the Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) service. Just thought I would try to keep you informed.
 

Jerry938

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
14
CMD/K SC QC DHCP Results:

SERVICE_NAME: DHCP
TYPE:20 WIN32_SHARE_process
START TYPE:2 AUTO_START
ERROR CONTROL: 1 NORMAL
BINARY_PATH_NAME: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SVCHOST.EXE-K NETSVCS
LOAD ORDER GROUP: TDI
TAG:0
DISPLAY_NAME: DHCP CLIENT
DEPENDENCIES: TCPIP
AFD
NETBT
SERVICE_START_NAME: LOCALSYSTEM

Files that are required for windows to run properly must be copied to the DLL Cache
Insert your windows xp pro cd-rom now
It's asking for my windows xp pro cd-rom when I try to run sfc/scannow. My system did not come with a cd-rom.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
It's asking for my windows xp pro cd-rom when I try to run sfc/scannow. My system did not come with a cd-rom.
its found some missing or corrupt files -

when did this first start ?

you may have a hidden partition - whats the exact model of the HP PC
 

Jerry938

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
14
This issue first started Wednesday, 12/7. Exact model of the HP is HP Compaq dc5100 SFF (PZ595UA) Is this enough information?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,486
lets see if it has a hidden partition

control panel
administrator tools
computer management
disk management

can you post a screen shot or list details of what you have listed



I wonder if a system restore may help

start>
programs>
accessories>
system tools>
system restore>

choose a date before 7th
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top