[SOLVED] "Replace Disk" error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

WarC

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
I was able to fix my earlier problem with my new A7V mobo, but now when I start up it tells me that there is an invalid system disk, and to replace it and press a key. That is all fine and dandy, except that THERE IS NO DISK IN THE DRIVE. At first I thought my drive might be dead, because it was making a racket, so I switched Floppy drived with my Linux comp. The noise is now gone but I still get the same message, and I NEED this stupid floppy to install a frickin' OS on the thing.
 

WarC

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
Wow...that easy? Now I feel like an idiot. My stance as a "Computer Geek" is officially withdrawn for a week. Shame, shame on me.
 

WarC

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
Not just yet! I switched the boot sequence, happy as ever....but the problem still persists. Boo Asus! Poor tech support from there company, too. Good thing I have you guys.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Can you take the floppy drive out of the boot order completely?

And there is an operating system on the hard drive?
 

WarC

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
Yes, first I took it to the last step: Then I disabled it completely. after that failed, I physically unplugged the power and cable from it. If its not plugged in I get an error, if it is and its disabled I still get an invalid disk error
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Is there an operating system on the hard drive? Have you tried to boot with a windows bootable floppy in the floppy drive?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
YOu don't need a floppy if your MB supports booting from a CD-ROM. Look at the boot device order and have it set to CD-ROM, C, A
 

WarC

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
No, there is no OS on the system: thats what I'm trying to do now. And I can't set my boot order to CD-C-A, because even if I do the same error pops up. I contacted Asus, but they haven't responded yet.
 

WarC

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
New update: Now the error that I got when I unplugged the floppy shows up even when its plugged in "Floppy Drive fail (40)" I know this isn't true, because out of three floppy drives in the house i've tried 2 in this machine, and all three have had previous use, so I know these drives work. Even when I press F1 to continue boot up, the old "Invalid Disk" pops up again, even though the bios says it can't find a floppy drive. I'm going to kill something.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
You will get the earlier error with no operating system installed...you've got to either boot to a bootable floppy or the cdrom that was suggested before........the new error is usually cable related or drive failure.
 

WarC

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
I tried switching floppy cables, the one I was using in my old comp instead of the nifty rounded black one: Bios still reports dead floppy. I then switched the floppy with the one in the linux box again: Still reported dead. Of course, the invalid disk error pops up still, even though my cdrom has no cd in it, and my floppy has no disk in it. At least that big Dynatron heatsink/fan looks pretty on my currently useless processor. La la la. (Frustration...anger...fury...and now a relaxed calm)
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
I am thinking you fried your motherboard from your "stray" mounting standoff. Maybe it cut one of the traces on the bord or just fried it altogether. I bet it would work fine with a new motherboard....whadda ya think!!
 

WarC

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
5,531
You think I could trick Asus into replacing it? Mwuuhahahaa...eh...This sucks. I just ate though, and theres a mildly good looking girl staying at our house tonight, so I feel ok. Quick! to the sedatives!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top