1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: (Resolved) How do I alter the pic format???

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by sgl1, Dec 26, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Ok, this is a weird one but probably an easy one. I use ACDSee to view all my pics that I download. I have the options set so all the jpegs are automatically set to be viewed ACDSee style. However, every now and then when I downlaod a pic it doesn't adjust to open as a jpeg. It only reads as a microsoft file and I need to use the open tool to set what to open it with. How do I change it to open automatically in ACDSee?
     
  2. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Howdy sgl1

    I don't use ACDSee but I would guess that you can set which image extentions it will view under preferences or something of the like. ( same place you set it to associate with JPG's)

    buck
     
  3. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Thanks Buck but that's not it. I've already made all the associations. I may download say 20 jpegs and it may be one that doesn't work. How can I change it to associate it with ACDSee. I know I can go into folder options but the problem is I don't know what kind of file the pic is. It's not corrupted because when I check what I want to open it with it works! Cool avatar by the way.
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    usually under file ... when you "save as" ... the window opens & you can either click on the arrow at the addressbar where you name it to change it to Gif or Jpeg... etc... or you sometimes just have to add an extention (.jpg )
    try it several ways & see what works.
     
  5. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Thanks Savvy! It just took you saying save as for me to snap and figure out a way to do it! Couldn't see the forest for the trees kinda' thing lol! But here's another one for ya. Ya know when you download certain programs they install other programs even though you may not check them. And then you go into system config and see all these new items checked. Well you can uncheck them to not run, but the items still remain in the box. I know there's a location in the registry where you can go and delete these keys but I can't recall where and I looked for 15 min. last nite. Refresh my memory please!
     
  6. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    errrrrrrrrrr........... I don't mess in the registry...lol
    I'm scared I'll screw something up... let one of the others help ya here.

    I'll send someone if I can
     
  7. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Tell ya what you need to do is make a new thread. This one is not drawing attention. Besides your picture question has been resolved
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi,

    You said in your question 'this was probably an easy one'.
    I'm not so sure about that, for apparently ACDSee does open jpegs by default on your system, and it only occasionally forgets to.

    Try this:

    Run the program and click the "Tools" menu, then click "File associations."
    Click 'Remove all'
    This tells ACDSee to restore all default Windows image file associations. (Make sure you click the "OK" button after you do this.) .
    Close the program and reboot (important).

    Now go back to File Associations, and this time check 'Select All'.
    Click OK, close ACDSee and reboot again.
    Now wait and see whether the file associations stick this time.

    Good luck,
     
  9. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    I have used ACDsee for years and every now and then some of the formats in ACDsee get uncheck.
    It is easy to redo by going to Options, Miscellaneous tab and click on the set file associations button.

    You can make a copy of an image also and when you have it so you have the image details in the sied there right click and pick convert. Then if you are going to save as a jpg then pick the option button and move the slider all the way to the right so it does not compress the image and then ok it and ok it again to convert.
     
  10. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Problem solved. Thanks y'all. Have a great New Year!
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63036

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice