Solved: Restoring computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jcmj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
74
Hi- I've had some trouble restoring my computer to an earlier date. I tried 2 months and was denied. Then I tried 3 more times using August, and
Sept. (2008). I was still denied. Obviously my question is: what's up?
I'm using a 5 year old dell dimension 2350, 1.8 gh, pent 4, 512 ddrsd ram.
I've never had this problem before. I just put a new cd/dvd burner into
the tower. Thanks,
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
242
What are you trying to restore from? (A corrupted hard drive, registry, system setting...etc...??)

Also, when restoring, if a restore point has not detected any changes then there is nothing to restore. A commercial backup program would be recommended for full or incremental backups saved to a partition or secure part of your hard drive.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome. What is the exact message you are receiving?
 

Darkst4r

It's My Birthday!
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
272
Are you using any kind of registry cleaner ? i.e Registry mechanic or similar ?

I used to use registry mechanic until I realised it was picking up my restore points as problems and deleting them , making it impossible to restore my system.
 

jcmj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
74
Hi- Thank you all for posting a reply. I was having trouble with my computer recognizing my cd/dvd drive when I was trying to put vacation pics on a cd. I thought I'd restore to an earlier time when I knew I had last used my cd/dvd drive. The message was: put a blank
cd in E drive. (E drive is cd/dvd) I tried numerous blanks but couldn't do it. That's when I tried restoring. I ended up getting a new dvd drive
and I still can't do a restore. I know I don't need to now but, it still bothers me...what if I need to restore at alter date.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Are you sure you are trying to restore from a restore disk that has something on it? Or system restore under system tools? And what error message do you get if you try?
 

jcmj

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
74
The message is: cannot restore at this time. I've gotten 3 x's
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I think you should try clearing all system restore points, by unchecking the system restore, then reboot, then recheck it and see if you can create a good NEW restore point.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top