1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Router dropping connection to internert

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dhd, Oct 31, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dhd

    dhd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    So basically, for the last 2 days, every couple of hours my router just stops letting me connect to internet. After that, I have to either reboot the router, or simply disconnect the cable from the WAN (modem to router) port and plug it back in. After that everything works great for the next few hours.
    Now I do have 2 TP-Link routers connected via LAN ports, so maybe that would be an issue, but I've had this setup for over a year now, and haven't had similar issues. I also haven't changed any settings lately.

    Any ideas what could be wrong?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,207
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you try with just one router - see if its a particular router thats dropping the connection

    i would start with just the main router first

    Please make a note of the status of the lights on the modem and on the router when working normally - post that light status here.
    Now when the internet disconnects make a note of the status of the lights for the modem and router here again. also note which have changed.

    would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 98.139.183.24
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste



    if you see on the results a
    "general Failure"
    This sometimes means a firewall issue
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. dhd

    dhd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    I'll do these test tomorrow when I have some more time.
    By the way, I have actually already tried switching the routers around, but same issue. Also the problem probably isn't pc related, since I have 2 pcs and a phone connected, and none of them can access internet. Oh and I can access the routers just fine through 192.168.1...
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,799
    First Name:
    Terry
    And when you look at the WAN (Internet) status does the router still have a good IP configuration? (When I have a similar problem I look at this first, and then do some pings as advised by Wayne.)
     
  5. dhd

    dhd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Hmm didn't look at the WAN status. I'll make sure I check next time

    Here are the test results:

    WHEN WORKING

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TH
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-E0-D2-CB-13
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethern
    et Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A0-D1-A7-CE-5F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9026:6c68:8beb:c354%3(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 30. oktober 2014 22:27:45
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 8. december 2150 18:06:37
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 50372817
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-DC-00-05-00-A0-D1-A7-CE-5F

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5C554E2D-B634-498B-BB74-9507CE3A1DAB}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.168.1.1 <----MAIN ROUTER (connected to modem)

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.168.1.2 <----SECOND ROUTER

    Pinging 192.168.1.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.2: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Windows\system32>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [194.152.31.247] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 194.152.31.247: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=59
    Reply from 194.152.31.247: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=59
    Reply from 194.152.31.247: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=59
    Reply from 194.152.31.247: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=59

    Ping statistics for 194.152.31.247:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 9ms, Average = 8ms

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 98.139.183.24

    Pinging 98.139.183.24 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=134ms TTL=45
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=129ms TTL=46
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=132ms TTL=46
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=130ms TTL=46

    Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 129ms, Maximum = 134ms, Average = 131ms

    C:\Windows\system32>




    WHEN NOT WORKING

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TH
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-E0-D2-CB-13
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethern
    et Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-A0-D1-A7-CE-5F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9026:6c68:8beb:c354%3(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 30. oktober 2014 22:27:45
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 8. december 2150 22:27:36
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 50372817
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1A-DC-00-05-00-A0-D1-A7-CE-5F

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5C554E2D-B634-498B-BB74-9507CE3A1DAB}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Windows\system32>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 98.139.183.24

    Pinging 98.139.183.24 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,207
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Please make a note of the status of the lights on the modem and on the router when working normally - post that light status here.
    Now when the internet disconnects make a note of the status of the lights for the modem and router here again. also note which have changed.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,799
    First Name:
    Terry
    Also, next time, IF the WAN still has a good IP configuration and the ping to 98.139.183.24 fails try a ping of the WAN's Default Gateway.
     
  8. dhd

    dhd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Update:
    - checked the router and modem lights:
    Router lights when working = lights when not working
    Modem lights when working = lights when not working

    - checked the WAN status on router page, and they are the same when working or not.

    - pinged default gateway several times and got:
    (didn't know if this is ok to post online or not, but if needed, i can leave the full numbers :confused:)

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 212.xx.xxx.1 <----working

    Pinging 212.xx.xxx.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 212.xx.xxx.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=254
    Reply from 212.xx.xxx.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=254
    Reply from 212.xx.xxx.1: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=254
    Reply from 212.xx.xxx.1: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=254

    Ping statistics for 212.xx.xxx.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 4ms, Maximum = 10ms, Average = 6ms

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 212.xx.xxx.1 <---not working

    Pinging 212.xx.xxx.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 212.xx.xxx.66: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 212.xx.xxx.66: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 212.xx.xxx.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 212.xx.xxx.1 <---not working

    Pinging 212.xx.xxx.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 212.xx.xxx.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 212.xx.xxx.1 <---not working

    Pinging 212.xx.xxx.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 212.xx.xxx.66: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 212.xx.xxx.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),


    - I also noticed, that disconnects only seem to happen when actively using a computer. When I rebooted the router in the evening ~1h before bed, it worked fine untill ~1h of work in the morning
    - Don't know if this matters, but when I switched the routers around, the time it takes to get disconnected, is alot longer with one router than it is with the other
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,207
    First Name:
    Wayne
    rather than switch around - can you disconnect one completely
    post #2
    whats the make and model of the Modem

    can you connect the PC direct to the modem and see if it disconnects - we need to eliminate some of the hardware
    also the TP-Link routers what are the models ?
     
  10. dhd

    dhd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Kind of hard to use just one router, since the second one is the one with the pcs connected to it. So I would have to leave the pcs completely disconnected until the router stops working. Due to this, I'll just have to wait until there is noone home to use them, then it's no problem to hook up my laptop.

    Modem: ARRIS model TM602B/220
    Router: TP-Link WR1043N & WR740N
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,207
    First Name:
    Wayne
    As you have already
    probably want to check the modem - so it would be good to try that when everyone is out
    I assume only one of the routers is giving out DHCP IP addresses
    Also
    as devices connected to both routers are disconnected- it maybe a Modem or cable issue
     
  12. dhd

    dhd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Yeah as soon as I get the chance, I'll try just 1 router, then just the modem.
    Yes only one of the routers is giving out DCHP, and the other one has it disabled.

    Just curious, but why would it be a modem problem, if rebooting the router solves the issue?
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,799
    First Name:
    Terry
    When you have an apparently good WAN IP configuration but get no reply or 'destination unreachable' when pinging the default gateway (212.xx.xxx.1) I think it means a problem with the ISP's gateway server, or the cabling between ISP and modem, or maybe the modem itself.

    However, the fact that power cycling the router or removing/replacing the WAN cable always immediately restores internet service strongly incriminates the router. Best would be to test with a computer connected directly to the modem. Understanding that may be pretty inconvenient for you I suggest to at least use the other router (or switch their roles).

    If the router proves to be the problem, or you want to assume that now, make sure it has the latest firmware and then reset it to factory defaults and reconfigure it. Sometimes that will encourage a problematic router to behave itself.

    Something even simpler to try is to plug the router directly into a wall outlet if it is now plugged into a surge protector or power strip. Sometimes those fail--often sloooowly--and can cause strange problems with one or more of the devices supported.
     
  14. dhd

    dhd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Now that you got me thinking about the modem, the trouble did actually start a day or two after my ISP was having some major issues.
    I would have already contacted my ISP, but they are only responsible for the modem, so it would be nice to be reasonably sure my routers aren't the problem.

    Anyway, I'll try try to eliminate some of the hardware like etaf suggested, and also try to get a router that 100% works, to see if that helps anything.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,207
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i was assuming as you change the routers around that the problem would have changed a bit - so if the 1st router then both the devices on the first router and 2nd router
    if 2nd router than devices on the first router would still be OK and 2nd would not
    so that was my thinking, for modem, but i would defer to TerryNet post as far more experienced then I
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Router dropping
  1. Raskon
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    448
  2. MagicMoogle
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    362
  3. Haldur
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    489
  4. JaxCyclone
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    698
  5. sargaxon
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    474
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1136492

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice