Solved: Router question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Giant Octopus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
169
Hi. I just purchased a Windows 7.5 phone. I wanted to know how to connect to the Internet with it so I can download a game. I was told to buy a router. By connecting a wifi router to my computer I can then use it to connect my phone to the Internet.

The problem is I cant get my router to connect.

I connected my router to my computer with a Ethernet cable and then connected the router to my DSL modem with another Ethernet cable but the problem is I cant log onto the Internet. It wont go through my router. Is there something I'm doing wrong?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
can we have the make and model of the router and the modem

with a PC connected directly to the modem can we see an ipconfig /all - see how below
and then
connect the router to the modem and post an ipconfig /all from a PC connected to the the router
make sure we know which result is from which setup when replying here

do a powercycle when you make the changes - see how below


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R
For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

then type CMD

then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to power cycle

“power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
  • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
  • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
  • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
  • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Next switch on the router (if a separate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
  • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Giant Octopus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
169
^ Just to make a long story short. I want to play this game called Fable Coin Golf for the Windows Phone 7.5. Thats it. I'm not even going to use the phone for anything else.

I thought that I could connect the phone to my computers USB port and then share Internet connection with my computer so I can to Xboxlive and download the game into my phone.
The only way to do that was to download something called ZUNE. OK I did, but Zune seems faulty and while I could connect my phone to the Internet it wouldn't let me download the game. It kept saying "disconnect phone from computer" so in other words it doesn't work.

I was then told to get a wifi router.

I was told this
What you need to get is an inexpensive router with at least two Ethernet ports and WiFi in it. You plug your Ethernet cable from your DSL provider into the router, then you can get two extra cables and keep your Xbox and your PC connected at the same time. (Perfectly legal.) And when you want to play on the phone, you use the WiFi.


and this




1. Get yourself a router.
2. Connect the Ethernet cable (that is usually connected to your hard drive or 360 console) to the router.
3. Most routers are automatic, so wait for the router to kick start.
4. Once the router is ready (usually a green Wi Fi light shows up) you are good to go.
5. Connect a Ethernet cable from router to the hard drive (which is actually called as a cabinet)
6. Connect your phone wirelessly.


So I bought a router (now I've spent a combined $160 just to attempt at playing a phone game that costs $5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) and tried all that but it wont work.


I use AOL through a DSL modem and my router is called a "Belkin Surf N300"


 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
I use AOL through a DSL modem and my router is called a "Belkin Surf N300"
its possible the modem may be a router and so you need to set the new router up differently
hence the question about using a PC and seeing the info requested

do you have a PC and can you do the tests requested ?
 

Rearden

Banned
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
169
I haven't used a Windows Phone device, but it should already be connected to the Internet with your data plan. There's probably a program on it that allows you to download applications.
 

Giant Octopus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
169
Hey guys. Thanks for all your help. I finally was able to get it working. Thanks again Etaf.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
it may help others searching the forum, how did you solve the problem
 

Giant Octopus

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
169
It was as simple as doing the Power Cycle that you suggested in your first post.

I don't know if I'm stupider for not doing something that simple before asking for help or spending a combined $160 for a $5 dollar phone game.:-(
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
I don't know if I'm stupider for not doing something that simple
a lot of people miss that process - and its especially important on cable modems -

thanks for posting back
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top