1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Router seems to constantly disconnect from my network, wireless signal drops

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jay2112, Jan 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Hello everyone, this problem has got to the point to where I am not sure what to do next. I am a pc technician for a living so I never usually have problems I cannot fix on my own,

    I have a Dell Studio 1745 Laptop and its only a few years old, I recently upgraded my router to be wireless a year or so ago and have had a few d/c issues here and there but mostly has not been a problem.

    Recently I have had tons of d/c issues while playing warcraft or browsing the internet in general, anything really.


    So I made the mistake of recently updating my WNR1000V3 router's firmware from my laptop's wireless connection. After I did this I saw all sorts of warnings (none built into the firmware itself, sigh) that this was a big no no.

    Since then my d/c issues have been horrible but what it does now is my connection will be completely normal then all of a sudden my wireless access point will switch to 'No Internet Access' and it will drop my internet.

    The only way I can get it back is to go into the other room and reset the router by either unplugging it, or pressing the reset button on the back, once it reboots and everything, my laptop sees the connection again, and it has Internet Access fine.


    Soo I went and made the problem much worse, the lame part of the situation is before I had this firmware issue I was getting this problem anyways.

    I decided if I could flash a older version of firmware to the router using my desktop that is wired to the router I could then reupdate it to the current version, fixing these current issues hopefully.

    I found a old firmware version on netgear.com and went to upload it through the router login for my router, it then said the file format was unrecognizable or not the right one (it was a .img file). I even tried to mount the file and explore it, no go. I found another firmware version older than that and attempted to flash that to the router and it began to update, then gave me a warning that this firmware was older than my current, I click yes and my internet drops and the update never happens.

    So if I did screw the modem up this way I have no idea how to fix it now :( I have reset it to factory settings but this doesn't affect the firmware version. I suspect the firmware has something to do with the recent problems because I have seen the 'Congratulations, You have setup your router and are connected to the internet" like 20 times these past 48 hrs.

    I downloaded Xirrus wifi inspector and have it running now. I tried the ip flush and release stuff, and a bunch of tricks ive seen on other forums.

    My system is Windows 7 with a Intel wi-fi link 5100 AGN network adapter. I have tried rolling back that network driver and messing with the advanced and tcp/ip settings.

    Please if anyone can offer any insight or any things to try please do. I know something really simple is going on that I am overlooking, but I have to start with fixing the firmware, or even making sure that has anything to do with this.

    Thanks

    I should add that the internet works fine wired, this is purely a wireless signal/router issue I think. Also, I have the router in the next room over, full strength all the time, I'm on a different channel than every other wireless channel I can see in my neighborhood, and I have no interference from devices.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whilst working can we see the following and then when it disconnects can we see all the tests again - the three ping tests are important


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.


    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Hey, thanks for the reply, here is the information you requested.

    I stayed on all last night with no problems amazingly, woke up this morning and got dc/ed every 30m-1hr or so as usual again.


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jay
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-D6-4E-D5-C2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ac10:26d6:737f:8eaf%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 12, 2012 3:59:24 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 13, 2012 3:59:24 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218113238
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-FB-27-A3-00-24-E8-F5-DF-48
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-E8-F5-DF-48
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:87b:20df:9d46:e758(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::87b:20df:9d46:e758%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{75918FA7-0763-4D60-8204-74895615C2EB}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{929A8D20-739B-4E2A-A591-7D1BCB4B5F73}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    ----

    C:\Users\Jay>ping 192.186.1.1

    Pinging 192.186.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.186.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\Jay>

    ----

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Jay>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.227.82] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.227.82: bytes=32 time=65ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.227.82: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.227.82: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=53
    Reply from 74.125.227.82: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 74.125.227.82:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 66ms, Average = 63ms

    C:\Users\Jay>

    ----

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Jay>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=53
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 18ms, Maximum = 21ms, Average = 19ms

    C:\Users\Jay>

    --------------

    Trying to ping my default gateway once more yielded this:

    C:\Users\Jay>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 3ms

    C:\Users\Jay>

    So next time I am dc/ed you want me to try the ping stuff again and paste it here?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you would post back all tests - ipconfig /all - xirrus and also ALL three ping tests
     
  5. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Hey, Got the d/c a little while ago and I got everything except one of the ping tests.. because I couldn't get online to get the ip to use, I'll get it next time.

    Heres everything else, right after disconnecting, going to my router and pushing the reset button and giving it 5m brings back internet access every single time.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Jay>ping google.com
    Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
    .

    C:\Users\Jay>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.2: Destination host unreachable.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),

    C:\Users\Jay>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jay
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-D6-4E-D5-C2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ac10:26d6:737f:8eaf%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 12, 2012 3:59:24 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 13, 2012 3:59:24 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218113238
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-FB-27-A3-00-24-E8-F5-DF-48

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-E8-F5-DF-48
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{75918FA7-0763-4D60-8204-74895615C2EB}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{929A8D20-739B-4E2A-A591-7D1BCB4B5F73}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Jay>
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you have lost connection to the router on that ping test
    so it would be useful to see the xirrus shot

    if you connect the PC to the router with a cable - does it still disconnect - want to isolate this to a wireless issue only and if the firmware maybe the issue at all
     
  7. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Hey dude, thanks again for trying to help

    Just got a d/c a second ago but it reconnected fairly quickly (within 20seconds)

    I snapped a shot of Xirrus for you when it happened. When this laptop is connected to my home modem this does not happen. I also have a desktop in the living room that is wired to my router and this never happens. (Although I don't game and download on that pc so this isn't 100%)

    I did notice as soon as it reconnected, the external IP in Xirrus showed back up.

    Keep in mind it usually doesn't reconnect itself, usually it'll stay and on the bottom right itll say No Internet Access and sometimes my wireless hotspot disappears completely.. But when I reset the router this fixes those problems every time.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so points to a wireless issue

    is this a different location ?
    and still wireless or wired to the modem ?

    that looks OK

    how many devices connected by wireless and did they all disconnect ?
     
  9. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Same location, when I go to my living room and wire the laptop to my router it works fine seemingly. So yea it does seem to be a wireless/router only issue.

    Only 2 computers in my house, my wired desktop in my living room and my wireless laptop in my bedroom. The only other thing connected is my xbox 360 to my wireless network and it hasn't been turned on in 2 weeks I rarely play it.

    The laptop has always had a few spotty dc issues but never to the amount I get them now. I can't seem to stay connected for longer than a hr or two before it at least drops me once.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you test out the xbox , just to confirm all wireless devices disconnect at the same time - which would then point at the router and basically goback to your first post and firmware issues
     
  11. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Yea good idea, what I'll do is play some xbox live for a hr or two and see if it d/cs me.

    I'll post back tonight with the results.
     
  12. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Okay just played around with xbox live a lot.

    It disconnects whenever my laptop disconnects, at the same exact times.

    Before I had this problem, my laptop still had the occasional d/c (maybe 5-6 in a 24hr period, and it would always reconnect immediately, I never had to reset the router) but the xbox would never disconnect, my friends would play call of duty for like 7 hours uninterrupted.

    Also I grabbed some more screenshots, what happened was it disconnected, then suddenly worked for like a minute, then it appeared connected but the internet wouldn't work, then the access point disappeared altogether.

    Thanks again for your time, I am ready to try anything at this point, it's making my internet experience worthless haha.

    Update: Just got another DC and got this new interesting message.

    It says Windows has detected an IP Address conflict.. Then it says another computer on this network has the same IP address, yet my desktop has been off all day today. The 360 has been offline as well. How weird, I hope this sheds some light on my problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Heres the screenshot of that above message I just got.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Jay2112

    Jay2112 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Also decided to check into my event viewer to read up on that conflict.. and oh man something is definitely messed up here..
     

    Attached Files:

  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    With respect to the dup. IP issue, make absolutely sure you have no other device that could be on the network now. I have occasionally been surprised to find that my iPod Touch is on, after not using it for a day or two.

    If your WPA2 passphrase is guessable, or is a dictionary word, or if you at some time let a neighbor connect to your Wi-Fi you could be providing somebody else's internet access.

    If you haven't done so since the firmware update reset the router to factory default settings and reconfigure it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1035797

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice