1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Router will not allow modem to send and receive data

Discussion in 'Networking' started by munro4, Feb 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. munro4

    munro4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Dear Forum,

    My modem allows me to connect to the internet when I plug an Ethernet cable directly into my laptop from the modem.
    However, when I try to plug my modem into my router to display a wireless signal; the modem will not send or receive any data.
    This makes me think it has something to do with router; since I have tried different Ethernet cables ect.

    I have a 2.4ghz linksys router, and a Webster Modem.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

    thanks,

    --munro4
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,519
    What model modem? Is it actually a Webstar?

    Do you remember to power cycle (unplug for 30 seconds) the modem when switching the device connected to it?
     
  3. munro4

    munro4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    yea, the brand is webstar...

    I have reset it many times and power cycled it.
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Was the reset a power off/on or a reset to default(holding the reset button in for at least 15 seconds ?)
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,519
    Reset the router to factory default settings.

    Unplug modem and router and shut down computer(s). Connect modem to router's WAN port. Connect a computer to a router LAN port.

    Plug in modem. Then plug in router. Then boot computer. If you don't now have internet access please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.


    Also, if you got a connection to the router please check the status and tell us what the WAN (Internet) IP Address, Mask and Default Gateway are.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/983202