1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Routers - Setup 101 and can't get past first step

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rdy4trvll, Mar 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rdy4trvll

    rdy4trvll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Have a NetGear WPN824v2 and can not connect to the internet or even the router set up page. I tried routerlogin.net, 192.168.1.1, 192.168.0.1, resetting the router, turning everything on/of, restarts, checked cables, etc with no luck. Running Windows XP, the router did work last time it was connected. Now all router lights lite up, and it looks like it's trying to go....even lights up and holds the #3 lan/cable position where I've connect it to the computer. Any ideas.
     
  2. iszsaint

    iszsaint

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    have do plug in directly with utp cable to the router>?,,netgear web interface only have one interface add which is 192.168.1.1.Tell us your wht is ur operating system? disable other connection in network connection except LAN.check your tcp/ip.
     
  3. iszsaint

    iszsaint

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    either one 192.168.0.1 which is by default supposedly.do open up the cmd, type ipconfig/all ,please paste the readings.
     
  4. rdy4trvll

    rdy4trvll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Wasn't exactly sure how to copy from that screen. So, I've attached a pic of the screen in a PDF. Thaks
     

    Attached Files:

  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, first off, you have your cable modem connected to one of the LAN ports of the router, not the WAN port where it should be connected. You'll certainly need to fix that!




    The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

    Note that the wireless encryption and channel selection will have to be done after the basic wired connection is established, the first step is to get wired connections working.


    • Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. rdy4trvll

    rdy4trvll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Yea, I probably overstated my level at 101.....I couldn't even get the computer address you requested....or maybe it's somewhere below....


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Doug H>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DHKXD6J1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) PCI-E G
    igabit Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-13-72-E1

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-17-82-2C-CA

    C:\Documents and Settings\Doug H>
     
  7. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:Just for a double check.
    Print off John's instructions above.
    As you complete one step,check it off. Pay attention to the wait times between steps.Do one step at a time to the end.
    Then let's see a new ipconfig /all
     
  8. rdy4trvll

    rdy4trvll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    ...maybe they will assign a network technician to each unskilled guy trying to install a simple network!!! Unfortunately, nothing really new here.....
    The router powers up but never really connects from what I can tell. The power light is on, it appears to run through some type of search - a check symbol lights, then an "i", the all four leds for the four ports.


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Doug H>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DHKXD6J1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) PCI-E G
    igabit Ethernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-13-72-E1

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-17-82-2C-CA

    C:\Documents and Settings\Doug H>
     
  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Your IPconfig indicates that neither your ethernet nor wireless adapters are active.
    If you are sure that you have followed all of John's instructions,take a look at your device adapters:

    Let&#8217;s take a look at the status of the network adapters

    Device manager:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    4. should be enabled and working properly.
    5. If error code,what is it ?

    And just to try another path:

    Stack repair for XP and Vista.
    Courtesy of Johnwill of the Networking forum.



    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following netsh commands..

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.
     
  10. rdy4trvll

    rdy4trvll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed. -
    Linksys Wireless G PCI Adapter - I double click and says it's working properly
    Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111c(P) PCI-E Gigabite Ethernet NIC - again, working properly....and I do have an internet connection when I connect the cable modem directly to this (if this is what I think it is)

    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed? - nothing rec or cauctionary

    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed? Again, all looks ok

    4. should be enabled and working properly.

    5. If error code,what is it ? - none
     
  11. rdy4trvll

    rdy4trvll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    ....and now just typed the two "netsh" resets and will reboot
     
  12. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And you did a router reset,holding the reset button in for at least 15 seconds ?
     
  13. rdy4trvll

    rdy4trvll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Yes....probably 6-8 times today....also turned off the ZoneAlarm firewall.
     
  14. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And results of stack repair ?
    Also,your ipconfig results differ from the first.What did you change ?Re-plug/etc ?
     
  15. rdy4trvll

    rdy4trvll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Yes, I did the Stack repair and a few other items all followed with re-attempts with no luck. I'm hoping a new router will solve the problem...but really not sure.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/908450

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice