1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Rows to Columns Issue

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by robpopper, Feb 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. robpopper

robpopper Thread Starter

I am really new to Excel (2003) and have read several similar posts to mine below; but cannot adapt the existing programming to accomplish the task. I wish to convert a data in “Book A” to appear like that of “Book B”
    This will be an almost daily repetitive task. Please refer to the attachment. Thanks for looking. Any thoughts on the subject will be greatly appreciated.

System information:System Board: ECS K7S5A Chipset: SiS 735
    CPU: AMD @ 1200 MHz
    System Memory: 4x1024MB (DDR SDRAM)
    Bios: AMI (11/21/01)
    Video: onboard
    Audio: Creative SB Live!
    Op System: Win XP - Pro SP3 with all updates

Attached Files:

• XL1.jpg
      XL1.jpg
      File size:
      197.5 KB
      Views:
  2. XCubed

XCubed

Hi

It seems to me that the Pivot Table function is ideally suited to your need. Attached is an example (the "totals" row and column can be suppressed if needed). The advantage of the Pivot is that you can keep adding to your list and the Pivot will automatically keep up with the changes.

Give it a try and come back with any questions if you run into problems.

Attached Files:

3. Zack Barresse

Zack Barresse

Hello there!

As XCubed states, you want a PivotTable, but your data (Book A) isn't completely structured for it. You don't want any blank rows. Other than that you should be golden. Take a look at some of these links to give you an idea of how to use PivotTables, and how awesome they are...

http://contextures.com/CreatePivotTable.html (Excel 2007)
    http://contextures.com/xlPivot01.html