1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Running Out of Ports On Router/New Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ferrija1, Nov 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ferrija1

    ferrija1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    Hello TSG Folks!

    I have an ISP supplied D-Link DI-624 router with four ethernet ports on the back. Two ports are being used by computers, one by a printer, and one is wired downstairs to a PS2. I am thinking about buying an Xbox 360 but I don't have enough ethernet ports. What can I do or what should I buy?

    Also, I am looking for something to extend the range of my current router or a whole new router. What do you guys recommend? The router is (and will be) in the upper right corer of the house.

    Thanks a ton!

    ferrija1
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  3. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    You could mix the two into one and buy a new router and connect it to your existing one. This would give you extra ethernet ports and a different wireless network elsewhere in the house.
    You can't plug and play so let us know if you plan to do this and JohnWill has a great little guide on how to make it work.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Connecting two SOHO broadband routers together.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).
     
  5. ferrija1

    ferrija1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to measure EXACTLY to make it work like a commercial antenna. However, the video is correct, there's not much to the antennas. :)
     
  7. ferrija1

    ferrija1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    You mean measure 2 3/4 inches exactly? What happens if you don't?
     
  8. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You don't get very good range.

    A 4-port router will support 253 computers, so you have some room for expansion.
     
  9. ferrija1

    ferrija1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    Ok, do you know why it has to be that exactly.
     
  10. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    LOL. I don't know why that specific number. I'd expect it to be 256, actually, since that's a power of 2. But that is what the specs for many of them say. There must be something about the design that reduces the number by 3.
     
  11. jackdw

    jackdw

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    253 ip addresses can be handed out. It can use 254 in total (255 is reserved), it uses one itself, the remaining 253 are then free to be leased out via DHCP.

    Not a fact, just what I think, seems to make sense though.
     
  12. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    OK. I'll go with that one. It has to be something like that.
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    In truth, the length, the number of turns on the coil, and the exact diameter of the coil are all critical to achieve the maximum range. This is Antenna Design 101. All they're doing is creating a longer antenna, and the loading coil increases the effective length.

    The center of the 802.11b band is channel 8 at 2.447GHz which equates to a wavelength of 12.26cm. So you can create a 1/4, 1/2, or one wavelength antenna to utilize it effectively. If the length is wrong the SWR will go up, and the energy will be wasted and not radiated.
     
  14. ferrija1

    ferrija1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    Ok, JohnWill. Thanks everyone! :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Running Ports
  1. ODucks
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    231
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/655892

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice