Solved: Saving a Word document one on a floppy and two on the C drive??

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

computer_pet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
484
Hi,

Is it possible that when you save in Word (2000) it makes a backup copy on the C:?? I save all my work on a Floppy disk then put in my computer with printer (then print it). However recently my disk drive has been playing up and have lost everything on the disk.

So when I save something on a floppy it also creates a backup on the computers hard drive. (Saves file on Floppy A:\letter.doc and creates a backup on hard drive c:\backups\letter.bac)

I know you can create backups on word except it saves them in the same directory (in this case a:\ which is pointless since I lose all data on the disk)

Anyone tell me if i can do this?
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
1. Get yourself a new Gmail account. You can buy them on eBay for next to nothing.
2. Email the documents to yourself instead of backing up to floppy. It's SAFER.
3. Get rid of the floppies; it's a terrible habit that will only continue to bring you heartache.
4. If you want a macro that automatically sends a copy of your file to your gmail account, I'll do that. :) Sorry, I cannot help you create a macro to save to a floppy 'cause I would NEVER want ANYONE to do that and believe that they're "backing up their files".

Side Q: No. The only way to include a non *web-safe font* on a web page is to put it into a graphic. I think that's what you mean?

Let me know if you want help with that web of yours.
 

computer_pet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
484
Can you create a marco to save to a location C:\word backups\ ? The Laptop I use does not have access to my network/internet. So If I want to print I have to put it on a Floppy and print on another computer. I agree floppys are terrible it's just that the only thing I can use.

So when I do save on a floppy is there some way it automatically creates a backup/copy on the C:\? I do not know what you mean by marco, but if can do what I want can you make one for me ?? :)

Thanks
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Ok. I got somebody working on it. We'll save an ADDITIONAL copy (of any file you save to the C drive) over to your floppy drive, with the SAME name.

It's prolly the only good reason I've ever heard to use a floppy.

You shouldn't have to do anything special. You'll just be able to save the file, and voila...an additional copy will be on the floppy for ya.
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Okay, guy. You asked for it. So now you have to be my guinea pig. AND...it's rated "HARD", and we don't get many of them. BUT, you're supposed to be able to follow the directions and have it work:

http://www.vbaexpress.com/kb/getarticle.php?kb_id=203

LET ME KNOW if you can't get it to work.
Also, just so you know, HARD means that it's time-consuming more so than difficult to implement. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. I did not test. You're going to do that for us. LOL :)
 

computer_pet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
484
Problem, Step three on the instructions say to select Normal.dot except i do not have that as a option in the VBE tree?.

I opened word, went Alt F11, except could not find "Normal.dot" this is a view of the tree structure i have:

- Normal
....... - Microsoft Word Objects
,,,,,,,,,,,,,:. ThisDocument
- Project (Document1)
....... - Microsoft Word Objects
,,,,,,,,,,,,,:. ThisDocument
....... - References
,,,,,,,,,,,,,:. Reference to Normal

What should I do?

Thanks in Advance
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
First, if you want to be a real techie, then you have to set Windows to properly show your file extensions:

Open Windows Explorer
Hit Tools-Folder options, View tab.
Make sure your settings are such that you ARE viewing file extensions...

Then look again. :)
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
By the way. I didn't realize your "side question" was part of your signature. Others might not either...
 

computer_pet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
484
That did not change anything, the tree looks the same as what I posted. I am using Word 2002. :)
 

computer_pet

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
484
I put in the code into the write places, except where do you put all of the code? is says to put in into Normal.dot (Normal) but the only thing I have ThisDocument. I followed the what to do steps, but it has change nothing, when I save no dialog box asks if I want to save on the floppy.
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
I don't mean to be rude, but the instructions seem clear to me. I know there are times when I *just can't get* something and need a second set of eyes. Have you tried to have someone help you with it?

Also....better make sure you have Macro security set to low or medium...
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Ok. I've had more time to check it out. That code was tested in 2002 and works in 2002. But it didn't work in 2000.

I've sent a note to the coder. Let's see if we can get it to work in 2000 for ya.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top