[SOLVED] Scandisk and Windows ME

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bilnrobn

Bill
Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
801
Can anyone help me with this? When I try to do a full scan, (ie select "thorough") using Scandisk I find that Scandisk keeps restarting. This is obviously because something is running in the background, but I can't work out what it is. I have changed all the powersaving options to "never" and have disconnected the screen saver and I have used Ctrl/Alt/Delete to shut down everything except Explorer and Systray. BUT IT STILL DOES IT!
What can I do to get Scandisk to successfully do a thorough search!:confused:
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
Select option: Safe mode at command prompt
At the command prompt type: scandisk /all or scandisk /all /surface
The scan disk should begin running. If scandisk detects a disk error select the option to fix it.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Originally posted by steamwiz:
If scandisk detects a disk error select the option to fix it.
I would not recommend just blindly allowing Scandisk to fix EVERY error that it finds. This can/will result in data corruption.

Errors on a disk should be the exception and each one should be reviewed carefully to determine the correct action.

This site gives a good explanation of the errors and why you should not allow scandisk to automatically correct errors.

This is the MS generic description of the errors.
 

bilnrobn

Bill
Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
801
Thanks Whitphil. actually I don't expect there are any errors, but I would like to run it about once every month or so to check. Thanks for the links... hope I don't need them!
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
2,773
WhitPhil

I've always let scandisk fix errors automatically and have often got the "scandisk found errors and fixed them all" message

In 5 years it has never caused me a problem - however I have just looked at the link you posted and it was certainly an eye-opener - I suppose I've been lucky

steam
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
steamwiz:
In the majority of cases, (like 999/1000), allowing scandisk to fix errors will be ok.
BUT, that one time could really be devasting.

You will frequently see posts from people indicating that all their files have been turned into DIRxxxx directories, or that folders has disappeared. Or files have been corrupted.

Scandisk is the culpit. Files on their own do that just "get corrupted". If they are sitting on a bad area of the disk, that will ultimately become a bad sector, yes. But on a good portion, no.

Also, note from the link the fact that the scandisk.ini file automatically fixes errors. This is the file used by scandisk after a bad shutdown.

As well, some of the default running parameters are not good, such as deleting (or creating copies) crosslinked files. These should not occur very often, but deleting means valid files no longer exist, and making copies, guarantees that one of the files is now corrupted.
 

bilnrobn

Bill
Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
801
Hey guys, I tried running Scandisk again when I got offline and still had the same problems. This time I disabled the virus protection, so it isn't that. Here is the strange thing... I have set the computer to make a click sound when a program opens or closes, so I can tell if something is happening in the background. Well I left the computer with just the desktop showing for quite a while and it didn't click once. Then I ran scandisk and everytime it restarted there was a double click, (something opening and closing I imagine), but it only happens when Scandisk restarts. Maybe the restarting of the scandisk process made the click? In that case why did it restart? I am confused!:confused:
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Are you in Safe mode or normal mode when you are getting the restarts?
If Normal, try safe mode.

One of the progams that is in your startups is most likely causing the restarts. You can poke through Msconfig > Startup tab and see if you can find it, or download and run Startuplist and copy/paste the contents of the file it creates, back here.

http://www.spywareinfo.com/files/startuplist.zip
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
I have ME also, and the only way I have been able to get scandisk or defrag to run was in Safe Mode.
 

bilnrobn

Bill
Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
801
Thank you all. I haven't been using safe mode, but it sounds like that is the answer.
 

bilnrobn

Bill
Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
801
It worked! To run Scandisk in "thorough" mode with Windows ME start the computer in safe mode and then run scandisk. A "thorough" mode run takes quite a while, but it will do it without problems if the computer is in safe mode. (You don't need to do this if you just want to do the much shorter file only scan.)
Thanks to everyone who helped solve this problem!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top