1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Scannow - question about non available cd-rom

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by hakumaster, Sep 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hakumaster

    hakumaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Hello,

    Because of a suspicion of a corrupted file somewhere in my XP SP3 OS, I tried to execute a sfc /scannow operation. After the command was executed via run/cmd, everything started all right, the operation progress message box appeared, there was a very slow progress on the scale - then, after a long while, a dialog box appeared, saying some files had ineed been corrupted, and asking me to insert a cd-rom with SP3 in my cd-reader.

    And there is the rub:mad:: I have no such cd-rom, since the SP3 update was done on-line and my original backup XP (Home Edition) goes way back to SP1.

    I suspect that somewhere on my HD, there must be a backup of the whole SP3 caboodle (probably in CAB format) - but where could that folder be, and, more importantly, how do I re-direct that dialog box or whatever comes after, to that particular folder. Indeed, it keeps asking after that cd-rom, and has no provision to go look directly on the hd.

    If such a folder (or cache, for that matter) does not exist, where can I get that cd-rom?

    Thank you for answering theis quetion,

    Hakumaster
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Usually the original disk will work,but if you have a problem
    you should be able to slipstream service pack 3 and make
    a new disk.
    Slipstream SP3
     
  3. hakumaster

    hakumaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Many thanks. Will try your suggestion. But I still have a faint suspicion that all necessary elements are situated somewhere on the HD: the original XP Windows files themselves, which are on the disk, were also installed on the computer; so I guess there must be somewhere a BU of the SP3 update. Hence my question: how to redirect the dialog towards that folder.

    But why oh why must things be so complicated, when they could be so simple?

    Regards,

    Hakumaster
     
  4. speed_hog

    speed_hog

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    hakumaster, welcome to TSG
    Have you tried this procedure?
    It worked great for me a few months ago and it saved all my data, which of course I had already backed up to DVD just to be sure!
    How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
    Author: Michael Stevens MS-MVP 2001-2007
    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
     
  5. hakumaster

    hakumaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Manu thanks. But my problem is not that vast. I just want to know how to get a SP3 cd-rom, so that in case of of a scannow operation that would ask for it, I can feed that cd-rom in my computer - just in case.

    When I have some time, I will try to do the slipstream suggested by Leroys1000.

    If someone could come up with a still easier suggestion, I'd be most grateful.

    Hakumaster
     
  6. speed_hog

    speed_hog

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,092
    Next time just tell us that silly :)
    you will save us lots of time researching how to fix your problem...

    *We are all volunteers and we do this because it feels good to help someone rescue there PC.

    Here is one you can DL and burn yourself:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...ce-b5fb-4488-8c50-fe22559d164e&displaylang=en

    You can order it from MS here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsxp/sp3/default.mspx

    *and a bit more info for ya :)
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&...pell&resnum=0&ct=result&cd=1&q=sp3+cd&spell=1
     
  7. hakumaster

    hakumaster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Many thanks to all!

    Just burned the cd. Worked like a charm. Case closed.

    Hakumaster
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/753854

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice