1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Screen has too much blue

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by zilj, Apr 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zilj

    zilj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Hello,

    I recently tried turning on my monitor and it wouldn't turn on. After restarting the computer, the monitor now has a blue tinge over everything: the startup screen is blue, the choose the operating system you want is blue, everything looks like I'm looking at it through blue cellophane.

    Here are the specs of my computer, although I think it is a monitor problem:
    OS: XP Professional
    System model: Dell DM061
    BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 2.2.1
    Processor: Intel Core 2 4300 @ 1.80 GHz
    Memory: 1022 RAM

    Under the display tab, it says I have a Radeon X1300/X1550 Series graphics card, Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor, but it says ViewSonic at the front of my monitor and at the back it says ViewSonic VX2235wm, Model Number: VS11349

    Thank you!
     
  2. Tanis

    Tanis Shane

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,698
    Hi and welcome to TSG.

    Have you tried the auto-setup on the monitor to see if it makes a difference? There should be a button on the front of the monitor to do this.

    Have a look at the back of the monitor and the PC, where the cable goes between the two and physically check that they are still connected securely.

    When you say your monitor didn't turn on do you mean you got no signal or it didn't come on at all? ie. no power light?
     
  3. zilj

    zilj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Hey, thanks.

    I chose the memory recall option and now the screen is very bright, but there is still the blue tinge. (I looked at a black box on photoshop and it looked navy)

    All my cables from my monitor to my computer are secure. I don't think I can push them in anymore.

    The power button on my monitor lights up when it's on, and it lit up, but turned off again almost immediately. There was no image on the screen either, not even a "no signal" box.
     
  4. Tanis

    Tanis Shane

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,698
    If you are not even getting 'no signal' then my initial thought would be a fault monitor, I am no expert though, but thats where I would start.

    Do you have any access to another monitor you can try? Perhaps and LCD tv in the house that has PC connectivity or a friend / relative that you can borrow just to plug it in and try?
     
  5. zilj

    zilj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I tried a monitor from another computer in the house and it seemed to work fine. Funnily enough, when I plugged the power back into my original monitor it worked fine as well, despite me trying re-plugging the power plug beforehand. I will chalk it down to another unsolved mystery with my computer.

    Thanks for all your help!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/820522