1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: script blocking tools

Discussion in 'General Security' started by ambergirl, Nov 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ambergirl

    ambergirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Hello,

    I am not good at all with this computer stuff and am having a hard time figuring out how to disable script blocking so that I can post about an issue I am having with win32/sirefef.o. I hate that I can't even get past the steps I need to so I can post. If anyone has any suggestions that would be great. I don't have norton, but I do have Mcaffee that comes with AOL.

    Thanks so much!
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Open McAfee's Advanced ActiveShield Options.

    Select the ScriptStopper tab, if present.

    Uncheck Enable ScriptStopper (recommended).
     
  3. ambergirl

    ambergirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Can't find any tab like that. Thanks for the help
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you try finding any setting related to Script Blocking?
     
  5. ambergirl

    ambergirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    sorry I can't find anything like that
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    What browser are you using? Internet Explorer, Firefox or Chrome?
     
  7. ambergirl

    ambergirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    right now I am on Firefox
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Do you have NoScript?

    If so, disable it. To do so, click Tools > Add-ons > Extensions > click the Disable button for NoScript and then restart Firefox.
     
  9. ambergirl

    ambergirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    not sure what happened, but the scan worked. I must of fixed something by accident. Thanks so much for your time and help!
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  11. ambergirl

    ambergirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    OK new problem, now when I try to do the next step and go to the gmr website it is not found....
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,451
    First Name:
    Derek
    just post what logs you do have in the malware cleaning forum & we can go from there
    Gmer is available from www.gmer.net and that link is working
     
  13. ambergirl

    ambergirl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    it is scanning now. Thanks so much for your patience. I will post in the malware area
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved script blocking
  1. LJFried
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    9,130
  2. carsandcomputers
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    5,855
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025360

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice