Solved: script blocking tools

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ambergirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
17
Hello,

I am not good at all with this computer stuff and am having a hard time figuring out how to disable script blocking so that I can post about an issue I am having with win32/sirefef.o. I hate that I can't even get past the steps I need to so I can post. If anyone has any suggestions that would be great. I don't have norton, but I do have Mcaffee that comes with AOL.

Thanks so much!
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Open McAfee's Advanced ActiveShield Options.

Select the ScriptStopper tab, if present.

Uncheck Enable ScriptStopper (recommended).
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Can you try finding any setting related to Script Blocking?
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
What browser are you using? Internet Explorer, Firefox or Chrome?
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Do you have NoScript?

If so, disable it. To do so, click Tools > Add-ons > Extensions > click the Disable button for NoScript and then restart Firefox.
 

ambergirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
17
not sure what happened, but the scan worked. I must of fixed something by accident. Thanks so much for your time and help!
 

ambergirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
17
OK new problem, now when I try to do the next step and go to the gmr website it is not found....
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
just post what logs you do have in the malware cleaning forum & we can go from there
Gmer is available from www.gmer.net and that link is working
 

ambergirl

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
17
it is scanning now. Thanks so much for your patience. I will post in the malware area
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top