1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: SCSI Ultra II to Ultra III Adapter

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 4steve44, Oct 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 4steve44

4steve44 Thread Starter

I have a SCSI PCI controller that is ultra 2 and I have found a 36.4GB SCSI hd from HP that is ultra 3. Will the adapter slow the transfer rate of the ultra 3. If so to what degree :confused: the controller I have has a sdram slot on it with a 16 MB stick in it . Will it still work If I put a 128MB stick in it?

2. 4steve44

4steve44 Thread Starter

3. 4steve44

4steve44 Thread Starter

Anybody out there :confused:

4. 4steve44

4steve44 Thread Starter

I can't believe I've stumped everybody ;)

5. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    I'm no expert on SCSI but if you can physically connect the drive to the exisitng then you've got one problem solved. If I remember right there's more then one physical connection type for SCSI devices. Then I would imagine the drive would run at the maximum speed supported by the controller.

6. 4steve44

4steve44 Thread Starter

Yes that what I was thinking too. It's just that the adapter is $25. But the difference in speed of the Ultra 2 to the 3 is double. The controller PCI is $95 or so. Ok I know I'm thrifty(cheap) :D Just playing a little bit and learning a whole lot. Every payday I like to do a little something to upgrade but don't like spending a lot of money ;)

7. storage_man

storage_man

Steve