1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Search for servers in steam games=laggy

Discussion in 'Games' started by the_man550, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. the_man550

    the_man550 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    329
    Hi there

    Right now I have 4 games from steam (valve) that I play online (hl2 deatmatch, counter-strike source, garry's mod and cs 1.6).

    The thing is that, when I search for servers in any of the games; my computer almost dies.
    Everything just freezes and if I try to for example open steam in-game it takes about 5-10 sec
    The game freezes as well.

    In game I never get under 60fps, everything maxed out @ 1680x1050 so I don't believe that it's something with my computers hardware.

    My broadband is 8mb, I don't know of any viruses and I use windows defender as protection.

    Anyone? :O

    Much appreciated
     
  2. ACA529

    ACA529

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    System specs would help?
     
  3. the_man550

    the_man550 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    329
    just quick then:

    Intel quad Q6600 2.4ghz
    BFG 8800GTX OC2
    4gb ram (I can use 2.75 of them in xp, which I use for dx9 games)


    So I'd not say it's hardware related :p
     
  4. the_man550

    the_man550 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    329
    Just ran gmod for the first time, and jeeez...

    The first thing that happened was that everything just frezed. If I placed the pointer at one of the menu text's it highlighted after about 5secs and a sound started to loop.

    I managed to start the game - not even 1fps

    I expected more from this computer......
     
  5. the_man550

    the_man550 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    329
    Solved it =)

    I didn't know that nvidia had a firewall embedded in their "drivers", but that was the case.

    Seems like that one and windows defender had a small fight, and nvidia "loosed" and crashed.

    I found it using 450mb RAM.

    Well, thanks for asking what speccs I have... :p
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/702646

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice