Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Solved: Second Card for Crossfire

2K views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  Elunah 
#1 ·
Hello, folks! I'm thinking about getting a second HD4850 for a CrossFire setup, and I've never used a dual-card setup before, so I'd like to hear some tips and opinions. Right now, the card and motherboard I'm using are:

ASUS EAH4850/HTDI/512M Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card (with DuOrb aftermarket cooler)

ASUS P5K DELUXE/WIFI-AP LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard

The second card I'm thinking about getting is:

POWERCOLOR AX4850 512MD3-DH Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card

I'm aware from looking around that it's kosher to combine two cards from different manufacturers that have the same GPU. Is this true? The two cards really only differ in specs in terms of clock speed--the PowerColor has a clock of 635, compared to the ASUS' 625, but I should be able to easily squeeze another 1.6% out of the ASUS to match it.

So, my main questions are:

1) Is this a good second card for a CrossFire setup?
2) The motherboard, which is touted to support CrossFire, has one PCI-E x16 slot and one x4 slot. Is it worth it to use CrossFire on this board? I know there are boards out there with more capable CrossFire support.
3) Will a OCZ StealthXStream OCZ600SXS 600W power supply with 4 +12V rails @ 18A be sufficient to power these babies?

Thanks in advance!! :D

See less See more
#2 ·
Maybe, no, no.