[SOLVED] second hard-drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bigsooner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
260
I'm attempting to install a second hard-drive to be used for data in an old computer - P-150. (El Cheapo). I have physically installed it and it shows up in the setup program. Both HDD selection and CMOS. However, when I boot the computer, It shows a secondary master and a primary slave. Even if I disconnect one of the hard drives (slave) the master boots as a slave. I'm using Win 95 and it boots up regardless of what the boot process shows. Any suggestions (other than getting a new computer). Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2001
Messages
702
Have you set the jumpers on the drives? If both are on the same IDE channel your existing drive should be set to Master and the new one to Slave. If they are on seperate channels, existing should be on Primary IDE as Master and the new one Secondary IDE as Master.
 

bigsooner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
260
Both are on the same IDE and the pins are set as you have noted. Still no response. Anything else?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Both drives are on the same gray cable? One is jumpered to master and the other to slave? The little plastic things that cover the pins on the drive itself are set correctly?

Do you have a cdrom?

What's on the second ide?

What brand hard drives are they?
 

bigsooner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
260
I have both hard drives on IDE 1. Master is at the end of the cable and the 2nd drive is attached to the middle connector. I have a CDROM attached to IDE 2. All pins are properly set and connections are tight.
Thanks.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Why don't you try this.....put you main hard drive (jumpered as master) with the cdrom (jumpered as slave) on the primary ide and put the other hard drive by itself on the secondary ide jumpered as master......
 

bigsooner

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 4, 2001
Messages
260
Changed the drives around but still nothing. However, I had a smaller hard drive and decided to try it. BINGO! I guess the other drive is "KAPUT". Thanks for all the help.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Do you have another computer you can try it in before you toss it?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top