Solved: Secure Remote Connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

warhawk03

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
12
Hi guys,

I'm sort of new to all of this, but I'm looking for some general help and maybe a push in the right direction.

My big priority is to be able to connect to my home network remotely.

Hardware:
Linksys WRT54GL
PC w/ Win XP Pro (main)
PC w/ Win XP Pro
Mac Powerbook G4 running OSX 10.3.9

I'm in school right now and on the road a lot. I take my laptop everywhere, whether its to class or home on weekends. My two desktops stay at my apartment at school, and host files and programs I want access to.

My goal is to set up secure access to my network at my apartment so I can log into each machine using Remote Desktop when I want. I'm slightly familiar with Port forwarding, but it doesn't seem secure. And since I have multiple machines connected on my network at my apartment, I was thinking a VPN would be the best choice, but I know they are hard to set up. I want to be able to set this up for future possibilities with helping my family members with their computers as well, so security is important to me.

Any help in regards to either where I can find more help, tutorials, etc would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all!
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
2,070
You can set up a VPN, and through the VPN, use the local IP to Remote Desktop into whatever PC you want, assuming the service is set up.
 

warhawk03

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
12
How would I go about doing that? Or where are some comprehensive sites with guides to setting a VPN up? Thanks much!
 

warhawk03

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
12
I'm attempting to set up VNC, and I get the error of Unknown authType -6. What is this?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Gosh, I have no idea! When do you get that error, during the installation?
 

warhawk03

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
12
Nope, it was my fault. I didn't open the port on my server machine. I got it working, regardless if that was what the error meant. Again, many thanks!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top