1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Self-Assigned IP address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brainwave89, Dec 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    I have a Dell Inspiron 530s desktop running Vista SP2. When I attempt to get online using a cable or a wireless USB adapter I get a self-assigned IP Address. When I manually add an IP and DNS addresses I can't get online also.
    I have removed my security software (webroot) and have disabled Windows Firewall.
    The same ethernet connection works on another one of my computers fine.

    What can I do so I get back online using either a cable or wirelessly?

    Thank you for looking.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,407
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have you removed webroot with a removal tool

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Webroot Removal Tool
    How to uninstall Webroot
    after using add/remove
    After you have created your System Restore Point, download and save the Webroot CleanWDF.exe firewall driver and legacy Webroot Desktop Firewall Removal/Cleanup tool to your Desktop by clicking here, or by copying and pasting the following URL into your Internet browser's address bar: http://download.webroot.com/CleanWDF.exe
    http://www5.nohold.net/Webroot/ukp.aspx?pid=2&login=1&usertext=removal&donelr=1#
    http://www5.nohold.net/Webroot/ukp.aspx?pid=2&ruleid=157
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    also try a tcp/ip reset - see below

    re manual IP - lets see a ipconfig /all with the settings set to auto


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    and press enter

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the message
    Access is Denied

    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Thank you etaf.

    I ran the Webroot removal tool.

    Thanks again for your help.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    Reseting Interface, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.


    C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Windows\system32>


    --------------------------


    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Office-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : -9B-39-18
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : f0::871:cd2:4c07:993%16(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.146.51(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 36647875
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-000F-D1-9B-39-18

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{8-5B4747935
    D56}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>
    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What manual IP addresses are you adding? Are they in the router's list of active IP's or the router's gateway? Is the IP for your machine or for the router connection? Do you have a DNS address configured in the router already? What DNS servers are you trying to use?
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,407
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you are getting this error on the tcp/ip reset

    goto the device manager and uninstal the Ethernet adapter - reboot the PC and allow windows to detect new hardware and re-install the adapter , drivers, which will also redo the tcp/ip bindings
    then do a another tcp/ip reset and see if that now works with out giving the Access is denied. error
     
  6. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Thank you Elvandil.

    192.168.1.108.
    Yes.
    For my machine.
    Yes.
    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4
     
  7. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Thank you etaf.

    After following your instructions I still get the access denied message.

    Any other suggestions would be truly appreciated. Thanks again for your help and support.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,407
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats the only thing I have seen that resolves that error message

    you are logging on as an administrator

    have you tried safemode with networking
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Safemode with networking
    with a cable connected from PC to router
    check the cable - see if there is a light on the router accosiated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    or updating the drivers from the Dell Website - whats your service tag number - should be written on the PC somewhere

    this link may help
    http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/usgen1

    heres a link to the LAN driver
    http://www.dell.com/support/drivers...rFileFormats?DriverId=719HJ&FileId=2731097675

    it may be worth installing that driver and see what happens
     
  9. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Thank you again etaf.


    I have re-installed the drivers with any change.

    I am using an administrator account.

    I will boot into safe mode with networking and report back.
     
  10. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    I get the same result in safe mode with networking.

    I get a self-assigned IP address.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,407
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i think the access denied is the issue and we need to fix that

    try uninstalling and rebooting the adapter in safe mode

    also try the tcp/ip reset in safemode

    tellus if you are still getting the "access denied! error
     
  12. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Thanks again etaf.

    I did as requested and I still get an access denied error.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,407
    First Name:
    Wayne
  14. brainwave89

    brainwave89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Thank you for all your support etaf.

    I decided to change out the drive and start all over.

    Many thanks again!
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,407
    First Name:
    Wayne
    let us know how you get on
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029264

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice