1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Send an automated email (outlook) from Excel spreadsheet dependent upon comle

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by ColinStewar, Oct 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ColinStewar

ColinStewar Thread Starter

Hi,

Im quite new to this excel programming thing and could really do with some help. :(

I need to send an automated email to 3 recipients (always the same 3 email addresses) when a number (formatted from a countdown of days to go) is 10 or less. Also i need a different automated email to be sent when a date is manually entered into a different cell.

I have managed to get the current date and time on my spreadsheet and used the format to work out the days to go to the deadline.

I have looked over all different types of forums but unfortunately because i'm still very green when it comes to excel i get lost and confused when trying to do this.

Is there anyone out there who can treat me as an alien and help me through this step by step.???

2. XCubed

XCubed

Hi Colin

You'll need to attach your spreadsheet (with personal information dummied up) highlighting the areas that will trigger the emails
    Also needed is to know the contents you want for the email - what information from the spreadsheet do you want to include in the email and in what format
    Finally, what is the sequence of events e.g. do you want to send an email every day after the cut-off point; do you want to record if and when an email has been sent etc.

It's a relatively easy thing to do but you'll need to get a good plan for how you want all this will work and then we can certainly help you out.

3. ColinStewar

Hi XCubed

Thank you for the prompt reply and you offer of help!!