1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Serious error that caused sudden restart...

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bradley27, Nov 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bradley27

    bradley27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    I was wondering if anyone could determine what this error is and why it happened.....

    I was watching videos on youtube and suddenly everything froze and then the system restarted itself....
     

    Attached Files:

    • help.JPG
      help.JPG
      File size:
      130.2 KB
      Views:
      67
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you post a few of your latest minidump files? They are located in C:\WINDOWS\Minidump. ZIP them and attach them to your next post.

    Right-click the minidump file, select Send To, then select Compressed (zipped) Folder.

    Windows will compress (zip) the file and save the new zipped file in the same location.
     
  3. bradley27

    bradley27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    There seemed to only be one.....:confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. VictoriaiiCe

    VictoriaiiCe

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    684
    Error is stating the system has recovered from a serious problem. Did this just occur? Have you tried a system restore? There is a manual fix on the microsoft support website: http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=316424
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Your minidump file is showing nv4_disp.dll, related to your NVIDIA video card, as the probable cause of the crash.

    Having only one of those crashes is not enough to blame your NVIDIA driver yet. However, if you're getting the crashes on a regular basis, you might want to consider updating your NVIDIA driver.
     
  6. bradley27

    bradley27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Interesting okay, yes it has happened before....ill check for updates

    By the way is there such thing as motherboard updates? I always hear people talking about making sure particular parts of a PC are up to date...
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Updating drivers is not always advisable when all devices seem to be in perfect working condition.
     
  8. bradley27

    bradley27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Ok, Nvidia mentions there is a fix for "Fixes reports of occasional driver timeouts while browsing the web"....i assume thats what i may have had.

    Also one last thing, i havent had any updates for yonks now, i tried to click the option to turn updates on and i got this weird message back (see screenshot)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. bradley27

    bradley27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    So ive done what it suggests and still nothing has changed...(note this was a few days ago)....also the weird red shield in the bottom right corner didnt use to be there either...
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    1- Please click HERE to download HijackThis.
    2- Run the program.
    3- Click on the Main Menu button if not already there.
    4- Select Do a system scan and save a logfile.
    5- Copy and paste the scan log from Notepad into your next reply.
    6- Do not "Fix" anything unless advised to do so.
     
  11. bradley27

    bradley27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Im with Virgin Media, and no never any connection issues to my knowledge...bare with me, ill run the scan
     
  12. bradley27

    bradley27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Okay this is the scan
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Also, click Start > Run > type services.msc

    Click OK.

    Make sure the Automatic Updates service is Started and Automatic.
     
  14. bradley27

    bradley27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Automatic updates isnt listed amongst "services.msc"

    I will also just mention i use Firefox for browsing..not sure if that helps.

    I tried to manually check for updates on the windows site and got this response....
     

    Attached Files:

    • win.JPG
      win.JPG
      File size:
      107.4 KB
      Views:
      59
  15. VictoriaiiCe

    VictoriaiiCe

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    684
    You can try running update via cmd prompt

    Start > run> type: cmd
    When window opens type: wuauclt.exe /detectnow
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028066

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice