1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Set restore point...refused

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sizzoid, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sizzoid

    sizzoid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    WindowsXP Media Desktop - I get repeated refusals from Windows when I try to set a restore point. I turned off restore points..rebooted..turned them back on..rebooted, but no dice. Is there a service to enable or something? Maybe a command line?? :confused:
     
  2. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Start> Run> type services.msc then hit OK.
    Go to System Restore Services and double click the line.
    Under Startup type: select Automatic from the drop down. Then click Start
    under Service status:
    Then Apply and OK.
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Is the System Restore service running?
     
  4. sizzoid

    sizzoid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    System Restore Service is already running and set to automatic.
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What is the exact message you get?

    Look in the Event Viewer and see what it says about the error.

    Try Start > Run:

    %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe
     
  6. Bert Kinney

    Bert Kinney

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    286
    Hi sizzoid,

    Just so I understand you correctly, you are trying to create a restore point and it fails?

    Using the Event Viewer take a look for any "sr" and "srservice" errors that appear and post them here.

    Event Viewer Help:
    http://bertk.mvps.org/html/source.html
     
  7. sizzoid

    sizzoid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Gentlemen,
    Thank you all for your help. I've tried everything. I even reinstalled the SR service from the factory disk. McAfee found a W3 generic worm on the hard drive named something like _restore{lotta numbers and letters}something.exe, so I just decided to do a complete factory restore of Windows....again. I've had enough, chasing trojans and worms this week.
    Thanks again. This site rocks.
    -------
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved restore point
  1. Unlucky_Pete
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,131
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596709

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice