1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: sharing programs over a network

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by hensleyjr, Dec 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hensleyjr

    hensleyjr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    I am trying to share a program from computer A to computer B without having to install the program on computer B how do i go about doing this in windows XP home?

    thanks in advance!

    hensleyjr
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,876
    whats the program ?
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You can't share a program by simply sharing a folder the program is installed to. The program executes on the local computer, and if the necessary files don't exist there, it won't run. An alternative would be to use something like Remote Desktop or VNC to connect to the other computer.
     
  4. Joanyoung

    Joanyoung

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,122
    some programes you can share, because I shared programes by sharing the folder.

    Google earth, picasa, and a few others, but I eventually installed them on my laptop instead of sharing, but it is possible to share some programes :)

    joan
     
  5. Plantsman

    Plantsman

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    390
    I'd be interested to know if you could do this by just using a Shortcut icon on computer B which has a path to the program on computer A.
     
  6. Joanyoung

    Joanyoung

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,122
    Not sure on that, I am going out curling tonight, but will have a look tomorrow see if it is possible. Maybe someone else knows in the meantime

    joan
     
  7. Jtoast

    Jtoast

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,362
    What you are talking about is basically using one machine as an application server. No that doesn't work without using some sort of virtualization software such as Citrix.
     
  8. hensleyjr

    hensleyjr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    ok i have vnc but i can not get it to connect to the desktop from the laptop the connection times out.
     
  9. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    I use UltraVNC, works well except its a little slow. Did you allow or make a hole for the VNC server (or is it viewer? I forget, do both to start) in the firewall and is it listening?
     
  10. hensleyjr

    hensleyjr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    yeah it seems to be listening and i added both to the firewall when i installed it
     
  11. hensleyjr

    hensleyjr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    i have to vnc working now, but i would still like to know if its possible to share a program over a network as my original question
     
  12. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    Why not just try it?
     
  13. Joanyoung

    Joanyoung

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,122
    Yes........... well I can share some programe files as I said earlier, and I can create a shortcut to that programe on the desktop
    You can't share the whole programe file folder, but you can share a programe within the folder.

    Yes just try it as Hughv says

    works for me!!!

    joan
     
  14. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    So these would be programs that run in thier own environment without having to install anything right? If that surmise is correct then taking it to a proactive step, I would assume one could call or link to PE versions of other programs that normally install and they would work as well. If so, I can see some usefulness from that as an emergency backup resource when using or working on a system which I don't have ownership of.
     
  15. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    If the program doesn't need any registry entries it will work. For instance you can run Notepad and Calculator from another PC over the network.

    If it does make registry entries, or needs to install DLL files into the system folders, you'll have to install it on PC B. You can install the main program into the same folder on PC A though by mapping a drive from PC B to PC A, assuming the license will let you install it on two PCs.

    HTH

    Jerry
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/775163