1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: similar to %windir%

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by chardin, Jul 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chardin

    chardin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Hey all.
    I have made a batch script to fix error code 8004005 in msn by deleting the contact cache in the user folder located in C:\documents and settings\[there username]\contacts\[users email].
    But each time i go to send it to someone i have to change the username for there Windows Login.
    Is there a way similar to the %windir% ?
    Or a way that they can have a small interface on which they can type in there username?
    I have sent this batch to 5 people now, but the word has gone around that i can fix it so everyone is wanting it.
    So thanks, Chris :)
    (damn it just started the daily backup when i was about to submit LOL)
    (then forgot to post it).
     
  2. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Try %username%
     
  3. chardin

    chardin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    It seem that should be it, but it dosnt work, it just searches google etc.
     
  4. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    "it just searches google "????
    You put this variable into your script and when you run it, it searches Google??
     
  5. chardin

    chardin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    oh right sorry, in explorer it dosnt work, it just searches google, and in command prompt it says.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Chris>cd %username%
    The system cannot find the path specified.
     
  6. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    I thought you wanted it for a script??

    Your syntax at the command prompt is wrong.

    The CD command is meant to be used at the prompt not part of the actual file name.

    If you use
    CD\documents and settings\%username%

    it works
     
  7. chardin

    chardin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    it is, just it was a batch so i was testing it in command prompt, but thats got it, thanks.
    Ill post the batch when im sure all the bugs are out of it.
    Thanks
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487462

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice