1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Skye in General

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by draceplace, May 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. draceplace

    draceplace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    I let Skype install a couple of weeks a go and now its wanting to update. My question is. Have you who have installed found it to be a sound product that doesn't cause other issues? I stopped the update and its acting stupid (technical term). Its on the task bar and had to use Task Manager to get it to shut down (may have been halting the update).

    Since I'm not currently planning to use Skype anytime soon I could uninstall till needed. If its relatively harmless I'll go ahead and keep it updated as MS seems to be integrating Skype into other products.

    Thanks,
    Dan
     
  2. donetao

    donetao Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,675
    First Name:
    Frank
    Unless you want Skype to auto-load EVERY time you start your computer, you can manually load it with its desktop icon when you're ready to use it.

    Uncheck its entries in the startup list, then apply the change.

    Change its "Startup Type" to Manual in the services list, then apply the change.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    I use Skype all the time and it works fine, I also update it whenever it gets an update.
     
  5. lighttech

    lighttech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I've used Skype for years and never had any issues with it at all. Apart from forgetting my password..ooops
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    I update Skype whenever it prompts me to - I'm usually okay with the changes they make. :)

    That being said, just because something is new or updated doesn't necessarily make it better. You don't have to update, but their update could include security patches that you won't know about unless you read their release notes. Those are the types of updates you want. If it's just an interface change then it really doesn't matter.
     
  7. draceplace

    draceplace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    Thanks for replying to my misspelled thread (Skye). I'm going to go ahead and let my Skype update in anticipation of using it someday. I will take a flavalee's advice and remove it from startup for the time being.

    Thanks again TSG!
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    You're welcome. :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147623

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice