1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: sloooow usb transfer speeds: ntsc to fat32

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by twogurusindrag, Mar 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. twogurusindrag

twogurusindrag Thread Starter

Please assist me:

I'm running XP Home SP3 on a 1.6 GHz Dell desktop with 512 meg ram.

I have recently bought a western digital My Book 1TB usb drive and also got a 250 Gig drive (manufacturer unknown- already converted (not by me) to external usb).

I have a 40 gig and a 30 gig master and slave.

All but the 1 TB are formatted to NTFS, the 1TB is fat32.

All the drives are whole (ie: no partitions).

The 2 external drives are hooked in via a NEC pci to usb 5 slot card which is hooked into PCI slot 4. (the computer was originally usb 1). also on the card are my keyboard, cable modem and dvd burner).

I am getting very slow transfer speeds between drives, and it occurred to me it might be the difference in formatting. I read somewhere that the large drive needed to be fat32 in order for windows to work with it properly (and it came this way).

The task manager performance tab shows my processor working under 20% almost consistently and only about half the memory is being used.

Is this creeping transfer to be expected, or is there something I can do about it? One example is, to move about 6 gigs , it takes over an hour (the estimated time goes back and forth between extremes like 250 minutes to 45).

Any input would be appreciated. I am a low level computer guru. Everytime i try to research something I find several more things I don't understand, so take it easy on me.