1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Slow boot. Slow programs. Slow shut down.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Noob1, Feb 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Noob1

    Noob1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Hello.

    Win XP Pro SP3
    Pentium D CPU @ 3.00 GHz
    1G ram

    This machine is on a server-based network in a nonprofit. I am the "IT person" but frankly, I am not an IT professional... I'm in charge of it simply because I have some basic "do it yourself" skills!

    The machine was running very slowly for the past week, with hangs that lasted from 30 seconds to a few minutes, but always did come back. Shut down was taking over 2 minutes; restart was taking nearly 5 minutes. Programs such as MS Word 2003 opened very slowly. Our employee who uses this didn't mention all this to me until...

    During an MS auto update this past Wednesday, when XP rebooted to add 11 updates, the machine hung entirely. It took 6 hours before the first update was installed, then sat another 2 hours showing "2 of 11" and "do not turn off or restart your machine."

    I contacted MS and after heehawing around for a while, the person said to go ahead and do a hard shut down. It rebooted, slightly faster, and did not hang again, so last night, I was able run Ccleaner, then Spybot Search and Destroy and Malwarebytes. No malware. The machine normally runs Vipre Enterprise (which will show as SBEAgent in the log below); the Vipre log for the past three days for the machine is clean.

    I also scanned the disk for errors (none found) last night. And, I changed the page file size so that its virtual memory is now 2500 to 3048.

    I then manually updated the remaining 9 OS updates and restarted.

    The machine continues to run very slowly, with some slight improvements in boot time and program start up compared to prior to the work I did last night. But, it certainly is running very, very slow compared to its specs.

    This machine also acts AS the "server" to run our fundraising software (SAGE), which needs to be run off a 32 bit platform (and our MSBS 2008 network server is 64 Bit). That would be the SQL stuff in the log below. It has been working in this capacity for the past year, so that configuration is not likely to be the cause of the problems (IMHO!)

    Also, the Hard drive is 75 GB with just over 1/3 empty.

    Here is the HiJackThis log from this morning. I welcome any suggestions for what I can do next to improve /fix this machine. Thank you!

    ===========================================================

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.3 (BETA)
    Scan saved at 8:26:41 AM, on 2/11/2010
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL$BKUPEXEC\Binn\sqlservr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sunbelt Software\SBEAgent\SBAMSvc.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Shared\sqlwriter.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL$BKUPEXEC\Binn\sqlagent.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Sunbelt Software\SBEAgent\SBAMTray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe
    C:\Program Files\TrendMicro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://companyweb
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = about:blank
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = about:blank
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = TAGA ESTI, MARINDUQUE MABUHAY!!! by: Nicklaus S. Buñag
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: Spybot-S&D IE Protection - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar_32.dll
    O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Notifier BHO - {AF69DE43-7D58-4638-B6FA-CE66B5AD205D} - C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\5.5.4723.1820\swg.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\yt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Google Toolbar - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\GoogleToolbar_32.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SBAMTray] C:\Program Files\Sunbelt Software\SBEAgent\SBAMTray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [swg] "C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe"
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Google Sidewiki... - res://C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\Component\GoogleToolbarDynamic_mui_en_96D6FF0C6D236BF8.dll/cmsidewiki.html
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Spybot - Search & Destroy Configuration - {DFB852A3-47F8-48C4-A200-58CAB36FD2A2} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {4871A87A-BFDD-4106-8153-FFDE2BAC2967} (DLM Control) - http://dlm.tools.akamai.com/dlmanager/versions/activex/dlm-activex-2.2.4.1.cab
    O16 - DPF: {4BEF854E-6531-40D8-825E-5228A12861F3} (pwrUpl2 Class) - https://sagesoftware.thruinc.net/Components/PowerUpload.cab
    O16 - DPF: {8100D56A-5661-482C-BEE8-AFECE305D968} (Facebook Photo Uploader 5 Control) - http://upload.facebook.com/controls/2009.07.28_v5.5.8.1/FacebookPhotoUploader55.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9191F686-7F0A-441D-8A98-2FE3AC1BD913} (ActiveScan 2.0 Installer Class) - http://acs.pandasoftware.com/activescan/cabs/as2stubie.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CB50428B-657F-47DF-9B32-671F82AA73F7} (Photodex Presenter AX control) - http://www.photodex.com/pxplay.cab
    O16 - DPF: {E06E2E99-0AA1-11D4-ABA6-0060082AA75C} (GpcContainer Class) - https://mwmus.webex.com/client/v_mywebex-mwm/mywebex/ieatgpc.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = sds.local
    O17 - HKLM\Software\..\Telephony: DomainName = sds.local
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = sds.local
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: FLEXnet Licensing Service - Acresso Software Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macrovision Shared\FLEXnet Publisher\FNPLicensingService.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdate) (gupdate) - Google Inc. - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Software Updater (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
    O23 - Service: VIPRE Enterprise Agent (SBAMSvc) - Sunbelt Software - C:\Program Files\Sunbelt Software\SBEAgent\SBAMSvc.exe

    --
    End of file - 5756 bytes
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    You could try a Memtest to test your RAM(?) Burn the ISO image to a CD/DVD and boot from it.
     
  3. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Can you bring up the Task Manager and click on the Processes tab and see what taking up the most resources

    and what the CPU usage is

    Has it been cleaned out of dust lately?
     
  4. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
    If it is an IDE hard drive, go into device manager, Expand the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers, check to see what mode the hard drive is running in. Right click on the primary ide channel and select properties>advanced settings

    what is the current transfer mode?

    .
     
  5. Noob1

    Noob1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    OK> I ran MemTest for 1 hours so far- no errors. I will let it run a couple more.
     
  6. Noob1

    Noob1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7

    It is an IDE drive. Device manager tells me the Mode for Primary IDE Channel is "Ultra DMA Mode 5". There is a second Primary IDE Channel in the Device Manager list, which says "Ultra DMA Mode 2".
     
  7. Noob1

    Noob1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Yes, it has been cleared of dust. I opened the case and checked- all fans are clean and running, all vents are dust free.

    Task Manager/Processes Tab lists System Idle and whatever program happens to be open (i.e. Internet Explorer, or MS Word, etc.) as the top processes. Everything else shows a zero of the 42 or so processes running. Overall usage varies between 22% and 50%.

    I have not yet checked it when it seems to be "hanging" but will do so the next time it hangs and post to here, since I assume you're asking relative to processes running during a slow/freeze event.
     
  8. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
    Thats what it should be, look for another reason.

    .
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    22% to 50% CPU usage is not normal.

    You could download and run the free Process Explorer. You'll be able to precisely identify the culprit. By right-clicking on the process showing high CPU and selecting Properties… > Threads tab, you'll be able to pinpoint the thread that's hogging CPU within the process. You'll need to slide the bar left of CSwitch Delta in order to see the CPU values.

    Process Explorer doesn't require any installation. Simply run the executable file once downloaded. Then, configure the Process Explorer window to your liking. You can even replace the Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+
    DEL) by clicking on Options > Replace Task Manager. You'll get a lot more features and details than with the Task Manager.

    To determine which Process might be hogging CPU, click on the little graphs located at the top right of the window. A new window with four graphs will open, the first one being CPU. Click inside the window and press the spacebar to freeze the display. This will make it easier to hover your mouse cursor over the CPU peaks in order to read which process(es) is/are creating them.
     
  10. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Yes...at the moment it is showing high usage.....is that at sort of idle ??....so when the problem occurs take a look.....also take a look at memory usage an see if it jumps up when the problems happens.
     
  11. Noob1

    Noob1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7

    The memtest ran for three and a half hours and no errors.
     
  12. Noob1

    Noob1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Ok. I successfully installed and ran Process Explorer. No other programs (Word, etc.) were running. The antivirus (SBAMSvc is Sunbelt Software Anti Malware, which is an enterprise solution we chose because it is NOT supposed to be a memory hog, and is supposed to be optimized for older machines like ours) shows on the graph at 25 to50% when I hover over the CPI peeks. procexp.exe is the only other one showing action. The peaks show 50%.

    I'm not sure what I am supposed to be looking for/at...and what to do if I find something. Can you clarify?
     
  13. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,058
    Disable Sunbelt and test your computer's behavior.
     
  14. Noob1

    Noob1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    OK. Will try that tomorrow. I think it has to be disabled at the server level... there's no icon or anything at the local workstation/machine. I'll let you know.

    Thanks for all this advice, by the way!
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/902171