1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Slow-down, sound and video choppy

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Armiris, May 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Some people have issues with Google chrome and it would eliminate something......memory check would be good as well as a heat test and a inspection for dust build up.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    According to your System Properties window, your computer has an Intel Core 2 Duo T2050 1.60 GHz processor, but it's running at only 798 MHz - about 50% of its rated speed.

    That's one reason why your computer is running like a turtle.

    Go to Control Panel - Power Options.

    Change the power schemes to Always On.

    Click Apply - OK, then restart the computer.

    Go back into the System Properties window.

    Confirm if the processor is now running at its rated speed.

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    danke, I shall do that and run the memtest as well
     
  4. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    The My Computer properties window still shows 798 MHz, could this be due to my dual-core processor? Could it be only using one core for some reason, or is the window only showing one core? I am also using a power adapter from an older Dell laptop because the one that came with this one is broken, could that be causing any problems?
     
  5. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    I ran the memtest, and it completed with no errors.
     
  6. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
  7. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    Is upgrading the RAM the only option left? Why does it show the computer running at 798 MHz when the processor can go up to 1.6 GHz?

    I used to be able to watch YouTube videos smoothly, now I can barely play them.
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,066

    The processor speed may be correct - the processor speed is reduced when the computer is idle - Intel chips have something called Speedstep.
    Once you put the Pc under load - running a game etc, the speed will increase and reach the optimum of 1.60 GHz.

    flavallee may agree or not with the above ;)
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,648
    If we can get win2kpro to jump in, he's the Intel guru here and may be able to explain the processor speed issue.

    I've sent him a private message.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
  11. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    I closed all programs except for Avast which cannot be turned off. The CPU usage was lowered to around 1-3% and My Computer listed the current processor speed as lower than the specified processor speed.

    It shows the speed as 798 MHz (the specified speed is 1.60 GHz) no matter how much CPU usage there is, and on every power management scheme.

    I have not checked the SpeedStep settings on the BIOS setup.
     
  12. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
  13. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
  14. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
  15. Armiris

    Armiris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    572
    I disabled SpeedStep, restarted, and the computer slowed even more. My Computer did list the processor speed as 1.6 GHz, but when I started Google Chrome, I received a BSOD.

    DRIVER_ERQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    STOP: 0x000000D1, 0x000000C9. 0x00000005, 0x00000000, 0xF73CF88D

    atapi.sys - Address F73CF88D base at F73C6000, DateStamp 4802539d

    It said it made a memory dump, but I went to the specified dump path and it was not there.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1054717