Solved: Slow internet but other devices connected trough wireless have fine internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Disho

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
4
Internet speed on my PC is slow. All other devices connected trough wireless have great internet speed. This started 2 days ago. Now videos on YouTube are loading very very slowly (It takes so much time that I even cant watch video). I called my ISP (or what ever is that called) provider and they said that all is right with my connection and that I should have fine internet speed. So what is the problem and how do I fix it?


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 6143 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 410865 MB, Free - 111703 MB; D: Total - 453867 MB, Free - 165623 MB; E: Total - 89032 MB, Free - 73582 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P5QL/EPU
Antivirus: Avira Desktop, Updated and Enabled
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,324
First Name
Terry
Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

Disho

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
4
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Disho\Desktop>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Disho-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-3A-35-D4-D0-C7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d9b6:6f73:4f13:a233%18(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.37(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24. srpnja 2012. 23:40:34
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 25. srpnja 2012. 23:40:34
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 365443637
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-E7-EA-F2-00-26-18-88-97-89

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-18-88-97-89
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Disho\Desktop>
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,324
First Name
Terry
Make sure you have the latest ethernet driver from the PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's web site. If you already have the latest use Device Manager to uninstall it; reboot and let Windows discovery the adapter and reinstall the driver (this is in case the installed instance is corrupted).

Do you have any security applications running other than Avira Desktop?

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

Disho

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
4
I've done every step and still the same thing.
No, I dont have any security applications running other than Avira Desktop.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,324
First Name
Terry
I have two more ideas. Try them in whichever order seems more convenient to you.

Uninstall Avira and run the Removal Tool if they supply one. You can reinstall after testing.

Sometimes an adapter and whatever it connects to have trouble auto-syncing a speed. So, for a test, in Device Manager right click on your ethernet - Properties - Advanced tab; for the 'Speed & duplex' property try different values, beginning with 100 Mbps full duplex and 10 Mbps full duplex.
 

Disho

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
4
Oh tnx!!!! :D
It started working all well when I set 10 Mbps full duplex.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,324
First Name
Terry
You're welcome. :)

That will limit you if your internet service is greater than 10 Mbps, but for most purposes there will be no practical problem.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top