1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Slow internet but other devices connected trough wireless have fine internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Disho, Jul 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Disho

    Disho Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Internet speed on my PC is slow. All other devices connected trough wireless have great internet speed. This started 2 days ago. Now videos on YouTube are loading very very slowly (It takes so much time that I even cant watch video). I called my ISP (or what ever is that called) provider and they said that all is right with my connection and that I should have fine internet speed. So what is the problem and how do I fix it?


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 6143 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 410865 MB, Free - 111703 MB; D: Total - 453867 MB, Free - 165623 MB; E: Total - 89032 MB, Free - 73582 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P5QL/EPU
    Antivirus: Avira Desktop, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,958
    First Name:
    Terry
    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. Disho

    Disho Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Disho\Desktop>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Disho-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-3A-35-D4-D0-C7
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d9b6:6f73:4f13:a233%18(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.37(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24. srpnja 2012. 23:40:34
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 25. srpnja 2012. 23:40:34
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 365443637
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-E7-EA-F2-00-26-18-88-97-89

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-18-88-97-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Disho\Desktop>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,958
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest ethernet driver from the PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's web site. If you already have the latest use Device Manager to uninstall it; reboot and let Windows discovery the adapter and reinstall the driver (this is in case the installed instance is corrupted).

    Do you have any security applications running other than Avira Desktop?

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. Disho

    Disho Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I've done every step and still the same thing.
    No, I dont have any security applications running other than Avira Desktop.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,958
    First Name:
    Terry
    I have two more ideas. Try them in whichever order seems more convenient to you.

    Uninstall Avira and run the Removal Tool if they supply one. You can reinstall after testing.

    Sometimes an adapter and whatever it connects to have trouble auto-syncing a speed. So, for a test, in Device Manager right click on your ethernet - Properties - Advanced tab; for the 'Speed & duplex' property try different values, beginning with 100 Mbps full duplex and 10 Mbps full duplex.
     
  7. Disho

    Disho Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Oh tnx!!!! :D
    It started working all well when I set 10 Mbps full duplex.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    75,958
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)

    That will limit you if your internet service is greater than 10 Mbps, but for most purposes there will be no practical problem.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1062380

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice