1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Slow loading web pages when browsing

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by stealaway, Apr 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stealaway

    stealaway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Hi, I'm hoping someone on here can help me with this frustrating problem of web pages take to long to load. I thought I'd start with all my system info first then diagnose further...

    Here is my PC system info -

    S Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel Pentium II processor, x86 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3253 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 305234 MB, Free - 233281 MB;
    Motherboard: Intel Corporation, DH55TC, AAE70932-302, BTTC044000DV
    Antivirus: PC Tools AntiVirus Free, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled


    Here is a log from Hijack this - perhaps there is something in here that might need looking at.....


    unning processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\Antimalware\MsMpEng.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe
    C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPageSE2.0\OpwareSE2.exe
    C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\pctsGui.exe
    C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\BDT\FGuard.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\OLYMPUS\OLYMPUS Master 2\MMonitor.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\BDT\BDTUpdateService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\LMS\LMS.exe
    C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\pctsAuxs.exe
    C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\pctsSvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\UNS\UNS.exe
    C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Contacts\wlcomm.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R3 - URLSearchHook: PC Tools Browser Guard - {472734EA-242A-422b-ADF8-83D1E48CC825} - C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\BDT\PCTBrowserDefender.dll
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: Browser Defender BHO - {2A0F3D1B-0909-4FF4-B272-609CCE6054E7} - C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\BDT\PCTBrowserDefender.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {5C255C8A-E604-49b4-9D64-90988571CECB} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Windows Live Sign-in Helper - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Easy-WebPrint - {327C2873-E90D-4c37-AA9D-10AC9BABA46C} - C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Toolband.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: PC Tools Browser Guard - {472734EA-242A-422B-ADF8-83D1E48CC825} - C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\BDT\PCTBrowserDefender.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSC] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe" -hide -runkey
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Nero\Lib\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 10.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe ARM] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\ARM\1.0\AdobeARM.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [OpwareSE2] "C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPageSE2.0\OpwareSE2.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ISTray] "C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\pctsGui.exe" /hideGUI
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCTools FGuard] C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\BDT\FGuard.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Persistence] C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HFALoader] C:\Program Files\Hamster Soft\Free Zip Archiver\Hamster.Archiver.UI.exe -loader
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [OM2_Monitor] "C:\Program Files\OLYMPUS\OLYMPUS Master 2\MMonitor.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'Default user')
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Append Link Target to Existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppendSelLinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Append to Existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert Link Target to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECaptureSelLinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office12\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Easy-WebPrint Add To Print List - res://C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Resource.dll/RC_AddToList.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Easy-WebPrint High Speed Print - res://C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Resource.dll/RC_HSPrint.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Easy-WebPrint Preview - res://C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Resource.dll/RC_Preview.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Easy-WebPrint Print - res://C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Resource.dll/RC_Print.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Google Sidewiki... - res://C:\Program Files\Google\Google Toolbar\Component\GoogleToolbarDynamic_mui_en_89D8574934B26AC4.dll/cmsidewiki.html
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {5ED80217-570B-4DA9-BF44-BE107C0EC166} (Windows Live Safety Center Base Module) - http://cdn.scan.onecare.live.com/resource/download/scanner/wlscbase6886.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://www.update.microsoft.com/mic...ls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1296206673556
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{666CC51B-104B-4D26-85E1-FC128F74B648}: NameServer = 10.0.0.138
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\..\{666CC51B-104B-4D26-85E1-FC128F74B648}: NameServer = 10.0.0.138
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS2\Services\Tcpip\..\{666CC51B-104B-4D26-85E1-FC128F74B648}: NameServer = 10.0.0.138
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: Browser Defender Update Service - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\BDT\BDTUpdateService.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdate) (gupdate) - Google Inc. - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
    O23 - Service: Intel(R) Management and Security Application Local Management Service (LMS) - Intel Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\LMS\LMS.exe
    O23 - Service: NMIndexingService - Nero AG - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Nero\Lib\NMIndexingService.exe
    O23 - Service: PC Tools Auxiliary Service (sdAuxService) - PC Tools - C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\pctsAuxs.exe
    O23 - Service: PC Tools Security Service (sdCoreService) - PC Tools - C:\Program Files\PC Tools Security\pctsSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Intel(R) Management & Security Application User Notification Service (UNS) - Intel Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\UNS\UNS.exe
    --
    End of file - 8530 bytes



    Help me Obi wan kenobi ;)
     
  2. thingamajig

    thingamajig Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,271
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,059
    Click Start > Run > type ncpa.cpl

    Right-click your connection.

    Click Properties.

    Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties.

    Check Obtain DNS server address automatically.


    Click Start > Run > type services.msc

    Make sure the DHCP Client is Started and Automatic.


    If no luck,

    Try using Google Public DNS.

    Or, OpenDNS
    .
     
  4. OVERLORDCHAOS

    OVERLORDCHAOS

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    263
  5. stealaway

    stealaway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Hi thingamajig, Looks like something is very wrong going from my speed.. here are the results

    Ping 61ms Download Speed 0.07Mbps Upload Speed 0.06Mbps



    I'm not sure if it's do with what phantom010 was talking about with the DNS as that and default gateway and IP address are set to run Azurez program - would this make the connection slower because its not automatically getting an IP address? Oh and the DHCP is started and on automatic.

    This is soooo frustrating :mad:
     
  6. rosiesdad

    rosiesdad

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Who is your internet provider? and what speed are you paying for?
    If using a router, try connecting directly to modem with a cord, just to eliminate the router.
    If you have wireless, is it secured? and do you have other computers in the home using the connection wired or wireless?
     
  7. thingamajig

    thingamajig Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,271
    You could do as well with simple dial-up. Note that a dial-up model is 0.056M maximum bandwidth. For comparison, I just ran a test with numbers of 31.34M Down and 3.17M up.

    If you are paying for broadband, you should be getting broadband. Contact your service provider and complain. Go to them with numbers from the link above as well as CNET's version (http://reviews.cnet.com/internet-speed-test/) and they may have their own version.
     
  8. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,059
    Why did you configure those DNS server settings: 10.0.0.138 ?

    Click Start > Run > type ncpa.cpl

    Right-click your connection.

    Click Properties.

    Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties.

    Check Obtain DNS server address automatically.


    If no luck,

    Try using Google Public DNS.

    Or, OpenDNS.
     
  9. thingamajig

    thingamajig Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,271
    10.0.0.138 is likely the address of the modem or router. A few manufacturers use this as a default. The router/modem will forward name requests to the ISP's servers. It's not so uncommon for a router's DHCP to only give itself out as a name server. As long as your name resolution is working, I don't see any fundamental problem here. We could check this with the make and model of your equipment.
     
  10. stealaway

    stealaway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Bigpond is my ISP and meant to be paying for DSL2 - more like DRS (Dam right slow!) Using a 2Wire modem. This didn't happen before so I'll contact them I think - I did a speed test before and was good! Thanks for your comments and feedback too!
     
  11. stealaway

    stealaway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6

    That is the address for Bigpond and was given to me so that the port for Vuze would work as I needed that to be the same for DNS. I changed back the settings to automatic and made no difference when I ran another speed test - I think there is a fault with ISP somewhere - Thanks for your comments, appreciate them.
     
  12. stealaway

    stealaway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    True I SHOULD be getting Broadband but instead more like no band. Thanks for your advice I will contact them and see if there is a fault in the line or something. Paying for something you don't get is annoying. Thanks again.
     
  13. stealaway

    stealaway Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Sometimes the obvious is the answer

    Thanks for all your help I feel such as idiot now as I've just been told the reason for my PC going slow is I've maxed out my usage! So will be all ok tomorrow and back to normal.

    Till next time or will share what knowledge I have and to gain more experience I shall be back....
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/992125