1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Slow MACBOOK ProA1425 EMC2672

Discussion in 'Apple Mac' started by JoeyG, May 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JoeyG

JoeyG Thread Starter

Hello, I am a total Newbie to MACs, any advice on how to install Malwarebytes (or an equivalent virus remover of mac,) and is there a MAC option equivalent to "MSCONFIG" so I may be able to shutdown some automatic programs? Thanks in advance!

2. Headrush

Headrush

Windows and OS X are designed different and you don't really need to shutdown services like you did with MSCONFIG in Windows. It's not a newbie friendly task and it's highly unlikely you'll see any difference on your model MacBook.

Here a re a few malware programs for OS X: http://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/best-free-antivirus-software-for-mac/2/

If you Mac is slow, how full is your hard drive?
    That model comes with 8GB of RAM so I wouldn't think it was a memory issue.

If you run activity monitor, can you post the disk free space and page outs from the memory tab?

3. JoeyG

JoeyG Thread Starter

Thanks For the quick response,

(Another detail I am A Windows tech. attempting to clean up a friends MAC, first time really working on a MAC)

Here are the details I got from Activity Monitor/Memory tab , (I did not see the free disk space exactly, please forgive my MAC ignorance)

In the memory section of the tab I see the following:

Physical Memory: 8.00 GB

Memory Used: 6.93 GB (that's a lot being used, I see various programs "Detox reporter", "MacKeeper" using the most memory over 100MB)

Virtual Memory: 9.00 GB
    Swap Used: 210.MB

Memory Pressure: Full green bar

App Memory: 5.18 GB
    File Cache: 506.8 MB
    Wired Memory: 1,002.7MB
    Compressed: 324.0 MB

Under The "Disk" Tab: