Solved: slow net with 1 computer and home wifi, but not other computers or other wifi

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

matthewmatthew

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
5
hello.

i have cable internet that is connected to a belkin wireless router. one computer gets slow internet access when connected to this. multiple other computers get better speed. the one affected computer gets fast speeds when accessing the internet at other locations, like a friend's house. also, the affected computer gets fast speeds when connected to the router by a cable.

so the problem seems to be very specific to the connection between these specific devices.

the laptop in question is a thinkpad e420 running windows 7.

thank you in advance for any solutions or suggestions you might have.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,484
can we see an xirrrus screen shot please

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site. If you already have the latest driver reinstall it anyhow in case the installed instance is corrupted.
 

matthewmatthew

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
5
tried.. didn't work.

well, i had tried new drivers before, but i went to check the lenovo site anyways, and there were some new drivers. so i updated. but it hasn't helped.
 

matthewmatthew

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
5
i borrowed a router from a friend, and i'm getting proper speeds with this new router.

so it's something specific between the belkin router and the thinkpad.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
Try with no encryption. If that works OK then try WPA-PSK (not WPA2).

Are you using WPA2-PSK AES on the borrowed router?
 

matthewmatthew

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
5
ah ha! thank you!

so i took a shot with xirrus, and then i changed the settings for the belkin (slow) router to match the netgear (fast) router as best i could. that included the WPA and the channels. it worked. i've attached a copy of a before and after xirrus screenshot.

i don't know what these settings are. should these settings be alright? should i be trying to get this laptop to work with WPA2? also, since i've started monkeying with the router, anything i should be aware of or general tips to make sure it's working fast and securely?

thanks again for the help, TerryNet and etaf.
 

Attachments

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
There should be no need to restrict the router's wireless mode to 'g.' 'g/n' or 'b/g/n' should be just fine.

WPA2 AES is the strongest encryption, and requires hardware designed for it. However, WPA TKIP has not yet been cracked, so in practice it is just as secure. Apparently the wireless adapter in your laptop is not handling WPA2 correctly. Someday maybe there will be a driver update to fix or maybe it is not fixable that way.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top