[SOLVED] Slow PC from Cold Start

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dogger

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
8
My PC has started running slow, but only from a cold start, if I restart it runs normally.

I have gone to msconfig and disabled everything there one at a time, ( system.ini, win.ini, startup, autoexec & config.bat), none of this makes any difference. I have also found that pressing the restart button before anything starts to load also brings about normal working.

One last thing, I cannot be certain but I think this problem may have started after a defrag with Diskeeper Lite.

Does anyone have any ideas, please?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome. Definitely sounds strange. Can you post your startup items, start, run, msinfo32, software, startups, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.
 

Dogger

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
8
Thanks for your response

I 'm not sure if this information is in the form you want it, bur here is a startup list, obtained after a cold start.

StartupList report, 14/10/03, 22:35:54
StartupList version: 1.52
Started from : D:\PROGRAM FILES\STARTUPLIST\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\SYGATE\SPF\SMC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\A4TECH\MOUSE\AWMMAIN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
D:\PQSC\PROGRAM\CPCTRAY.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\ITOUCH.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYBLOCKER\SPYBLOCKER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
F:\PROGRAM FILES\HOT KEYBOARD\HOTKEYB.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\DRWATSON.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\STARTUPLIST\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

CountrySelection = pctptt.exe
PTSNOOP = ptsnoop.exe
ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Tweak UI = RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
WheelMouse = C:\Program Files\A4tech\Mouse\AWMMAIN.EXE
SecondChance = D:\PQSC\PROGRAM\CPCTray.exe
zBrowser Launcher = D:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
AVG_CC = C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
SpyBlocker = D:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYBLOCKER\spyblocker.exe
SmcService = D:\PROGRA~1\SYGATE\SPF\SMC.EXE -startgui
TrojanScanner = D:\Program Files\Trojan Remover\Trjscan.exe
TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Avgserv9.exe = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
SmcService = D:\PROGRAM FILES\SYGATE\SPF\SMC.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Hot Keyboard = F:\PROGRAM FILES\HOT KEYBOARD\HOTKEYB.EXE -minimized
Greatis Screen Beagle =

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 9/10/2003, 0:2:44)

[rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\win386.swp

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\bootup.exe
set temp=c:\temp
set tmp=c:\temp
mode con codepage prepare=((850) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\ega.cpi)
mode con codepage select=850
keyb uk,,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\keyboard.sys

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37881.1288310185

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating ShellServiceObjectDelayLoad items:

WebCheck: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WEBCHECK.DLL

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 4,507 bytes
Report generated in 0.753 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only

Also a Hijack List

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 22:37:05, on 14/10/03
Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\SYGATE\SPF\SMC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\ptsnoop.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\A4TECH\MOUSE\AWMMAIN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
D:\PQSC\PROGRAM\CPCTRAY.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\ITOUCH.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYBLOCKER\SPYBLOCKER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
F:\PROGRAM FILES\HOT KEYBOARD\HOTKEYB.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\DRWATSON.EXE
D:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACK\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,AutoConfigURL = http://127.0.0.1:8080/proxyconf
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PTSNOOP] ptsnoop.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WheelMouse] C:\Program Files\A4tech\Mouse\AWMMAIN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SecondChance] D:\PQSC\PROGRAM\CPCTray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] D:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SpyBlocker] D:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYBLOCKER\spyblocker.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SmcService] D:\PROGRA~1\SYGATE\SPF\SMC.EXE -startgui
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TrojanScanner] D:\Program Files\Trojan Remover\Trjscan.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SmcService] D:\PROGRAM FILES\SYGATE\SPF\SMC.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Hot Keyboard] F:\PROGRAM FILES\HOT KEYBOARD\HOTKEYB.EXE -minimized
O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to filterlist (WebWasher) - http://-Web.Washer-/ie_add
O12 - Plugin for .pdf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37881.1288310185

Does this help?
 

Dogger

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
8
Of course, this is what you really wanted


Microsoft Windows 98 4.10.1998
Clean install using Full OEM CD /T:C:\WININST0.400 /SrcDir=F:\WIN98 /IZ /IS /IQ /IT /II /NR /II /C /U:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
IE 5 6.0.2800.1106
Uptime: 0:00:12:40
Normal mode
On "Z6M5L2" as "D.Bateman"

AuthenticAMD AMD Duron(tm) Processor
120MB RAM
54% system resources free
Windows-managed swap file on drive E (425MB free)
Available space on drive C: 183MB of 964MB (FAT32)
Available space on drive D: 913MB of 1056MB (FAT32)
Available space on drive E: 425MB of 1045MB (FAT32)
Available space on drive F: 793MB of 3068MB (FAT32)
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Well, you don't have a lot of ram, and it appears your video is using 8 of what you do have, so that is going to slow things down for you when you have a lot of startups. For a test, start button, run, then type msconfig and hit ok...go to the startup tab and uncheck everything except for the scanregistry, systray and the load power profiles. Then restart from a cold start and see if that helps. Don't do anything internet related like downloading email ;)
 

Dogger

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
8
Thanks for the suggestion, AcaCandy. I had already tried that but I tried again, just to be sure. No difference.

I would have been surprised if there had been, as the problem seems to depend on something that happens before Windows loads. If I press the Restart button as soon as "Starting Win98" comes up everything is fine. If I don,t, The Desktop takes an age to load and when I try to load programs there is a lot of regular flashing from the HDD lamp and if I have System Monitor running it shows 100% processor activity until the program finally loads.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
How about along with that, uncheck the autoexec.bat file from loading.

I guess I'm wondering about the hard drive.......can you download some drive diagnostics from the manufacturer just to be sure it may not be the problem.
 

Dogger

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
8
I have tried unchecking autoexec.bat and config.sys to no avail.

I have been wondering about the hard drive too. If you think that is worth looking at as well I will do as you suggest, I will do as you suggest.

I have to be away for a few days but I will keep you informed
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I'd download the diagnostics. The only thing that comes to mind is on a cold startup, the hard drive isn't spinning yet, once it spins up and warms up, then it restarts fine......Do you have more than one drive per chance? If so, just for fun, you might try disconnecting it too, and the cdrom too.

Another thing, if you have a virus checker enabled via the bios setup, turn that off too, and also the search floppy setting, I'm not exactly sure of what your wording will be if you have the option.
 

Dogger

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
8
A quick update.

Yes, I do have another drive, and I realised that the programs I use most, and the start-up programs were on that drive. As an experiment, I moved one of these programs to the other drive and loading that was improved, so I took the plunge and moved the others, and that seems to have done the trick.

I couldn't see why the difference between cold and restarting, but your explanation that the drive is already spinning solves that one.

Thanks very much for your help, I think you can mark this as 'solved'.

P.S. The spellcheck function is a good idea, I've not come across that on a forum before.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Great! I had been racking my brain over that one and then a light bulb came on this morning :D

Thanks for letting us know.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top