1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Smart Card Problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by AllenSullivan, Aug 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AllenSullivan

    AllenSullivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Hello

    We're running Windows 7 on an hp Pavilion slimline s-51010 in a professional (real estate) environment with a Smart Card reader attached. We use it with a program called SentriLock to modify smart cards that unlock SentriLock locks.

    We had problems with employees installing unauthorized software. To curb that, we changed the default user accounts to be "Standard users." That way they would have to enter a password to run an installer. However, we discovered that this was easily bypassed by inserting a smart card because the computer asks for either an Administrator password or a smart card. We've kept the password safe and it isn't easy to just guess it.

    What can we do?
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,217
    That doesn't sound right. A smart card can be used to authenticate any user, and whether that account is an admin one must be configurable. I don't think a smart card can authenticate as an admin if you don't want it.
     
  3. AllenSullivan

    AllenSullivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    So what do you recommend? How can we remove admin privileges from smart card?
     
  4. AllenSullivan

    AllenSullivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
  5. AllenSullivan

    AllenSullivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Can someone PLEASE reply to this? Does anyone know what I can do?
     
  6. AllenSullivan

    AllenSullivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
  7. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,217
    Run your smart card program and configure it to use a non-admin account.
     
  8. AllenSullivan

    AllenSullivan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    ~sigh~ My apologies, folks. We tested out the smart cards and they don't authorize anything in and of themselves. But now we can't figure out how they got the programs on in the first place. The password isn't easy to guess. ~frustrated~

    But THANK YOU for replying! :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Smart Card
  1. Libertinarius
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    145
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1105856

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice