1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: smc router setup issues

Discussion in 'Networking' started by treefrog11, Jan 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. treefrog11

    treefrog11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    First of all, I just wanted to say thank you for any time you spend with this issue. I appreciate that there is at least a place to go when the manufacturers support system will not recognize the existence of the owner of their product.

    The issue:

    I have a SMC Barricade WBR14s-N2 router. I am having trouble setting the router up with WPA-PSK encryption. Actually, my problem is that it kicks me off the connection whenever I try to save changes in the set up wizard. Since it kicks me off, I don't believe any settings are being saved properly. In addition, when I have tried to save the changes, the WLAN disappears on the router and I have to use the reset button to "bring it back to life." Very frustrating.

    I have an older laptop (Dell Inspiron 2650) with a Linksys Wireless Notebook adaptor, for which I just downloaded the driver for. According to my research, it supports WPA encryption. I am running Windows XP and have downloaded the hotfix driver that enables WPA and WPA2.

    I must say that I have successfully configured the router as an unsecured network, but I have been unsuccessful at trying to establish a secured network.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    -Chris
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,980
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Try using a wired connection to the router while making any changes to its wireless settings or changing other settings that require a reboot of the router.
     
  3. treefrog11

    treefrog11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you for your reply. I was on a wired connection and I get the message, "network cable unplugged." (kicks me off the connection).

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,980
    First Name:
    Chuck
    I am not familiar with your brand or model of router but I do know that some routers require that they be rebooted when saving changes in some settings. The Ethernet ports may go dead during the reboot, which may last up to 15 seconds or more. Windows will report this as an unplugged network cable problem and then automatically correct itself within a few seconds of the router re-activating the Ethernet ports.

    According to what I have read about your router, it includes a web based management interface. Have tried logging into the router with a web browser and a wired connection instead of using the set up wizard? You may find that the web interface may be more stable as far as making and saving changes in the router configuration is concerned.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    If the router reboots certainly all connections are lost momentarily.
     
  6. treefrog11

    treefrog11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you for the replies!

    If I am interpreting your replies correctly, I should not work that the connection is lost because it will be lost momentarily...it is just the router rebooting. Ok, I can handle that.

    The other suggestion (implied in your response and duplicated from another forum) was to use another web browser other than IE. Do you mean a browser such as Firefox? You say I should use a web browser other than the set up wizard, but with the set up wizard, I cut and paste the login address into IE and it brings me to their site. Isn't this an example of using a web browser? Should I try this process through Firefox.

    I am not at home at the moment, but I will try the process again when I get home. The only problem is that I am also having a problem with my wireless notebook card (Linksys WPC54G V2). I have downloaded the driver from Linksys, and the icon appear in the lower right corner of the desktop, but the no lights appear on the notebook card. I have gone through their set up process, but, to no avail: not lights. I believe this is a separate issue from the router, since I should still be able to use a wired connection, but I would like to get the wireless up and running.

    Any idea as to why there are no lights on the wireless card?

    Again, your input is much appreciated,

    Chris
     
  7. treefrog11

    treefrog11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry, I had a few typos:

    "If I am interpreting your replies correctly, I should not WORRY that the connection is lost because it will be lost momentarily...it is just the router rebooting. Ok, I can handle that."
     
  8. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,980
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Some routers come with a separate "wizard" program on CD that runs on the user's computer and is used to set up the router. The program is not related to any web browser that is installed on the computer. I was making an assumption you were using such a program when you mentioned using a set-up wizard in your first post. Sorry about any confusion.

    If the wizard is built into the web interface of the router and you are having problems with setting up wireless encryption, does the router have the option to skip the wizard and manually set up the router's wireless access point?
     
  9. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Is your modem a modem/router combo?
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    Three ideas ...

    Not firmly inserted. No or incorrect driver installed. Dead card.

    It sounds like you probably have installed the correct driver. Check in Device Manager that the wireless card shows as OK under Network Adapters. Then check in Network Connections that the wireless connection is there and is enabled.
     
  11. treefrog11

    treefrog11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    INTRO:



    I have logged an extraordinary amount of time researching this issue and have made progress. According to a reply from another forum, I do not need to worry about the "network cable unplugging" because it is a normal part of the setup process for routers. I just needed to be patient and wait for it to reboot after it saved my settings.

    PROBLEM #1 = Solved!

    I had encountered another problem for which I found a solution to. I had replaced the existing, older wireless notebook adaptor with an slightly newer notebook adaptor (Linksys WPC54G v2), but I could not get any of the lights to light up. The research I found kept pointing to the fact that it was a “dead card.” I refused to accept this and kept searching until I found some that posted this solution:

    I had the same problem and fixed it by uninstalling all network adaptors
    Searching the net I found that you had the same problem that I had created on my father-in-laws laptop. After 8 hours of try the linksys instructions I discovered the the PC own network adaptor appeared to be stopping the WPC54G installing correctly. I solved it using the following steps.

    1. Uninstall the Linksys Wireless Adapter software/driver from using Program>Wireless-G Notebook Adaptor> Uninstall Wireless-G Notebook Adaptor
    2. Turn off PC and remove the network adaptor.
    3. Reboot the PC.
    4. Right click My computer on the desktop and click Properties.
    5. From the System Properties Select the Hardware Tab. Click Device Manager.
    6. In the Device Manager tree expand Network adaptors. Right click the Ethernet adaptor and Click Uninstall. (Don't close window as we will use it later)
    7. Install the WPC54G as per Linksys installation instructions. (After this my wireless worked)
    8. Back in Device Manager window right click on Network Adaptors and select Scan for new hardware.
    9. The PC finds the original Ethernet Adaptor and installs the driver.
    10. Reboot the PC both adaptors should now be working. Well it worked for me.

    It appears in my Device Manger both the adaptors are using a proxy "Odyssey Network Agent".

    I hope this solves your problem.

    Brian

    I hope this help - it worked for me

    Well, I owe Brian something because it worked. I did NOT have a “dead card!”

    PROBLEM #2 = Progress!

    Regarding my original post (above), according to a reply from a knowledgeable person, I do not need to worry about the "network cable unplugging" message because it is a normal part of the setup process for routers. I just needed to be patient and wait for it to reboot after it saved my settings. This worked (kind of)! I was able to set up encryption as WPA-PSK (this is what the wireless card supports) and select a SSID and encryption key. I then began setting the password option (I guess to login with a password instead of a key?). And was in the middle of that process when it asked me to start the “WPS” process on my client device ( I guess this is a technical way of saying: Connect to the Network!). So I tried. I was able to see that the computer recognized my SSID and all I had to do was enter the passkey that I had created. No sweat, right? Well…

    I go this error message: “The network password needs to be 40 bits or 104bits depending on your network configuration. This can be entered as 5 or 13 ascii characters or 10 or 26 hexidecimal characters.”

    I started my research and found a lot of old posts about WEP and decided that I should only focus on the newer posts. I couldn’t find a definitive solution other than a driver involved in the network access of the laptop may be too old…I needed to update. I also found that people mentioned that my operating system needed updating, however, I downloaded, what I believe to be, the latest Hotfix from Microsoft for XP SP3.

    So, with the error message above, what are my options? I feel that I am SO close to finding someone with a solution for this!

    Some info:

    Laptop: Dell Inspiron 2650 (don’t laugh!)
    OS: Windows XP SP3
    Ethernet Controller: 3Com 3C930 Integrated Fast Ethernet Controller (3C905C-TX Compatible)
    Driver Date: 7/1/2001
    Driver Version: 4.5.0.0
    Wireless Card: Linksys WPC54G V2 Notebook Adaptor
    Driver Date: 3/10/2004
    Driver Version: 6.0.0.18
    Router: SMCWBR14s-N2


    I did, within the last week download the Linksys driver, so I assume it is updated and supports WPA. The Ethernet Controller, I have no idea about.

    Thanks again for any thoughts you have on this problem!
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    Did you install that driver?

    I seriously doubt that an old adapter with 2004 driver is going to support Wi-Fi Protected Setup. I don't think that confusion was introduced that early. I would disable WPS on the router unless you are sure all your equipment supports it.

    What wireless utility (XP's WZC, Linksys's, ...) are you using to manage the wireless? Are you sure no other one is running?
     
  13. treefrog11

    treefrog11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    "Did you install that driver?"

    I am not too sure what this question means, but yes, I installed the driver. I downloaded it from the Linksys website and saved it to the harddrive. I think used the Setup Wizard to "bring the card to life."

    "I seriously doubt that an old adapter with 2004 driver is going to support Wi-Fi Protected Setup. I don't think that confusion was introduced that early. I would disable WPS on the router unless you are sure all your equipment supports it."

    You may be correct. I will try to disable the Wi-Fi Protected Setup. Does this mean I will not be able to enter a password and, instead, I will have to enter the WPA passkey each time I want to access the network?

    "What wireless utility (XP's WZC, Linksys's, ...) are you using to manage the wireless? Are you sure no other one is running?"

    Unfortunately, I am not sure how to check what wireless utility I am using to manage...I don't know what that means. How would I tell this? Also, how would I find out if another one is running?

    Thank you!!
     
  14. treefrog11

    treefrog11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Final Post:

    The first thing I did was DISABLE the Wi-Fi Protected setting on the router.

    Then, I found out what "wireless utility" meant (it was either Windows or Linksys). Through an error message when I tried to check my wireless connection trough the Windows icon on the system tray, it gave me an error message:

    "Windows cannot configure this wireless connection. If you’ve enable another program to configure this connection, use that software. If you want to use Windows to configure the wireless connection, click Advanced Settings, Wireless Networks tab, and then select the check box labeled, “Use Windows to configure my wireless settings.”

    From here I went in to make sure the box noted above was unchecked. I then opened the Linksys utility in the system tray and opened up my profiles. It prompted me to select my encryption and enter my passkey (It had never prompted me to do this before, I am not sure if it had something to do with disabling the WPS setting on the router). I then tried to connect to the router and, at first, it was able to connect, but unable to find the internet. I went back in to the Linksys utility and Refreshed the Site Survey option to look for my wireless signal. I then doubled check my settings in the Profile setting on the Linksys utility. I tried to connect again, and Eureka! It worked.

    So, I believe the verdict is that the Linksys, 2004 WPC54G v2, was, most likely, unable to support the WPS setting on the router. The other possibility is that I was running the Windows and the Linksys utilities at the same time. Since I change both independent variables at the same time, I am unable to attribute the solution to either one, by my intuition tells me it was the WPS change.

    Incidentally, I have a new wireless adapter that supports WPA2 encryption, coming in the mail. I hope you won’t see my post when I try to install that and change my encryption to WPA2!!!

    Thank you so much for your input. From totally remodeling my house and fixing my cars, to computer issues, I have been able to access help through forums from tremendous people. What would I do without the internet? Well, I wouldn’t have computer troubles, the house would stay as is and I would ride my bicycle everywhere….hmm…

    Thanks again.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,217
    First Name:
    Terry
    Nice going! :) I'm sure WPS was part of the problem, and if XP's WZC was running along with the Linksys utility you would have had trouble later even if it wasn't part of this problem.

    You're welcome.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975717

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice