1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: So Confused and feeling dumb!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by tamilynn63, Jan 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tamilynn63

tamilynn63 Thread Starter

I have been working with graphics programs now for 2-3 years. I do a lot of things needed for work but still just an amateur. It is never more apparent (my amateur status) than it is now when I am supposed to be updating our web site and all of my new stuff is creating larger files than the images that are currently in place.
    I am sizing them the same and I upload them and they are bigger. I thought I was going crazy so I tried this. I downloaded one from our site and tried the following just for an example.
    The photo is
    6KB/6542bytes 275w x160h pixels /res 305
    then I did nothing more than reduce the resolution down to 92. The size of the object stayed the same , still 275x160 pixels. I go to upload it and now it is twice the size than it was before I reduced the pixels. :eek: The reduced pixels made the photo only slightly smaller but bigger files. Our web master is going to kill me if I update with larger files sizes. What is the deal? Am I missing something?:confused:
    using Serif Photo Plus 10

I attached both photos.

before: 6KB/6542bytes 275w x160h /res 305
    after: 13KB/13841 and still 275x160 pixels resolution is 92

Attached Files:

2. buck52

buck52 Banned

Are they saved as the same file type?

Are they saved at the same compression?

3. tamilynn63

as you can see I included both of the photos. I saved them the same way and they are not compressed. both are jpg

4. buck52

buck52 Banned

Jpg is a compressed format... most good programs allow you to control the amount of compression