1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: So I accidently bought an ATA-100 IDE hdd.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Harvest, Apr 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Harvest

Harvest Thread Starter

Wow, why do they even still sell these? 500gb Seagate ATA-100 IDE HDD.

Wow, just wow. This is my first build and it was on sale and not knowing much about computers I bought it. I wanted 500gb, and I saw it was on sale. Now I see that It only has a 100mb transfer rate! While Sata has 150 and Sata 2 having 300mbs!

My question is, if I'm playing games like...Crysis...will the HDD have an affect on games? Or just on copying files?

Thank you. I don't think there is any way I can exchange as I bought it February 10th and have STILL not got the PC working (faulty mobo, sound card, mobo again!!!, graphics card step up and now finally when I install windows I get stuck at "verifying DMI Pool Data and I have no idea what to do"

2. Compiler

Compiler

The performance difference betwee the PATA and SATA drives is minimal. The interface has a MAX speed at those rates. But both drives use the same parts.

The problem here is that motherboards only have a SINGlE PATA connector, and so you're HD will have to be Master and your optical a SLAVE. Your system will suffer some performance issues depending on your chipset. If its an intel setup, it maybe more problematic as the PATA interface is remaining for optical drives as they are only recently in mass-production with SATA. With Intel boards, the PATA in not included as standard - but an add-on chip (another reason that intel boards are more expensive).

You sure are having a lot of problems... some brands are worse than others, but even the TOP brand of ASUS has problems. Sorry to hear that.