Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Solved: Solved: Code Needed For A Timestamp

3K views 31 replies 6 participants last post by  slurpee55 
#1 ·
I am looking for some help on an access database. I am trying to create a form that will automate a time tracking for a task I need to perform daily. My needs are pretty straight forward.

1. I want a button that when clicked will enter the current date into a text box, but I also want the ability to type a date other than that into the same text box. I want the format to be MM/DD/YYYY.
2. I want a set of buttons (Start Time and End Time) that will do the same thing as above with a timestamp. Also, again the ability to type directly in the text field. I want the format to be HH:MM.

Is this something that is easily accomplished? I have some experience with code behind forms, but would appreciate any help you would offer.

Thanks!!

#2 ·
You should be able to just create your buttons and then your text boxes. Basically, the only command functions you need are the now and format functions, I think.

So your code would look something like this for the timestamp:

Code:
Private Sub timestamp_On_Click()
me.txtboxTimeStamp.value =format(Now(), "MM/DD/YYYY")
End sub
...for the start time

Code:
Private Sub starttime_On_Click()
me.txtboxStartTime.value =format(Now(), "HH:MM")
End sub
HTH
Roger

#7 ·
Use the sub-procedures that rconverse has put in his post and it should accomplish what you want as well. I was just giving you a hotkey option. Do you know how to add that VBA in and have it run?

#9 ·
OBP,

I believe I do need them for what I am trying to do.

jimr,

I have done some things in code before and believe I am doing it right, but I could be wrong. When I do with the provided code it throws the above error. I made sure I changed the names in the code to reflect my control names, so I don't think it's something I did - but I'm not an expert. Should I post the DB or can someone talk me through it?