1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Solved: Event Log service failed; No network; Winsock reset doesn't help

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by finnan, Sep 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. finnan

finnan Thread Starter

PROBLEM:
    Being a technician, I always have my Lenovo laptop running Windows 7 Professional x64, working perfectly and smoothly.
    One perfect day I installed Apple iTunes, rebooted my laptop and then I discovered that many services had stopped working:
    1. fingerprint logon failed (so I switched to entering password);
    2. very slow startup (up to 1 minute delay comparing with the time it normally consumes);
    3. NO Internet access at all: nor wireless neither wired;
    4. system message in notification area:
    5. Event Viewer (eventvwr.exe) could not start because of a problem with the service;
    6. In Services snap-in there were two services in uncommon state:
      Windows Event Log in Starting...
      TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper in Starting...
      both were holding infinitely.

Of cause, first of all I uninstalled Apple iTunes, Bonjour (Apple service), QuickTime and other software I recently install.
    Didn't help.
    I tried Clean Boot, "sfc /scannow", System Resfore...
    Didn't help.

I looked into Google for solutions. Many guys recommend to reset TCP/IP and Winsock with these commands (should be run under administrative account!):
    Code:
    netsh winsock reset
    netsh int ip reset
    It works for almost everyone with the same problem (so try it first!), but not for me and a couple of guys, because of the following error:
    Code:
    Initialization Function InitHelperDll in NSHHTTP.DLL failed to start with error code 11003

SOLUTION:

1. find a machine with the same OS;