1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: sony laptop vgn-fs760/w network issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by galpo, Jan 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. galpo

    galpo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I have a box which I select routers to connect to the internet. I have not had problems connecting to both secured and unsecured networks. I am on vacation and am trying to connect to a 5 bar (Best connection) router. Every time I chose the router, I get back a "Automatic" connection, e.g., cannot connect to the internet. I can, however, connect with other routers ok. I am a 6 year user of this computer and am very familiar with the computer and its operation.

    Any one out there with "helpful" info kindly let me know what is up...Thanks
     
  2. tlman12

    tlman12

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Whats the operating system? by 6 years i would assume XP?
    what do you get when you do an ipconfig /all?
    what router are you trying to connect to? i'm assuming you've never connected to it before because your on vacation? some routers (although they say unsecured) may be configured with mac filtering or certificate based authentication that wouldn't allow you to connect.

    if you get an ip address can you ping google.com?
    if you can't can you ping 74.125.65.106 (google.com's IP)?
     
  3. galpo

    galpo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I am on windows XP, I was able to connect to this router two years ago, they have since moved it, however, it is still same router.

    Name of router address "North Leisure" (For North leisure gardens), it is a secure network, the key is the TELEPHONE number of the condo office.

    When I click on "North Leisure" and I put in the key to get on, I go to "Automatic" instead of "connected".

    As I say, I can get on any other secured (providing I have the key) and unsecured networks.

    I have not tried to ping google or any thing else. This is strictly a CHOOSE NETWORK and Connect.

    Thanks for info.....
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Have you checked the KEY is correct

    remove the wireless profile and retry the key


    Wireless Profiles
    http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
    - XP
    http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
    - delete the preferred networks
    start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

    you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. galpo

    galpo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I have checked the key several times....it is ok

    I did the remainder of what you suggested prior to my posts, I did them again today.

    I am still getting "automatic" rather than "connected"

    I have five bars (Strong) and I am about 20 feet from the router....somewhat
    maddening

    Any thoughts....thanks
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    post an ipconfig /all and xirrus


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    b]------------------------------------------------------------------------[/b]
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. galpo

    galpo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    ok...thanks to all who answered my posts, I can get on the internet so I am ok, this network that I have had trouble with still continues to be a mystery ... I will take it from here...again thanks to all
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977538

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice